GOREMENT: Complete Recordings To Be Released In September

GOREMENT — one of the finest yet most obscure death metal bands to ever emerge from Sweden — has inked a worldwide deal with Century Media Records for the release of the band’s entire catalog.

“Within The Shadow Of Darkness – The Complete Recordings” will be made available on September 24 on 2CD and double vinyl as well as digital download.

Other than on GOREMENT‘s discography compilation, “Darkness Of The Dead” (released in 2004), the entire musical content included on the upcoming release has been carefully remastered from the original master tapes by Dan Swanö, who has already been in charge for the production of GOREMENT‘s demos and the “Into Shadows” EP. The result is mind-blowing: All songs sound fresh and incredibly massive without ever losing their original character.

Commented Swanö: “GOREMENT was one of the first bands outside my ‘circle’ that I ever recorded. The first demo was done on a four-track portastudio, and I must say I am a bit surprised that the sound on that one is the coolest after the restoration!! GOREMENT could have been so much bigger if they had recorded the first album in a studio that would have given them the fat and ‘gory’ sound their music deserves. The songs are catchy and the musicianship high above average in the SweDeath scene at the time. It was a pure pleasure to revisit these recordings and carve out the best sonics possible.”

“Within The Shadow Of Darkness – The Complete Recordings” track listing:


01. My Ending Quest
02. Vale Of Tears
03. Human Relic
04. The Memorial
05. The Lost Breed
06. Silent Hymn (For The Dead)
07. Sea Of Silence
08. Obsequies Of Mankind
09. Darkness Of The Dead
10. Into Shadows

All songs taken from the album “The Ending Quest” (1994)


01. Intro
02. Darkness Of The Dead
03. Human Relic
04. Moulder Within
05. Intro
06. Process Of Cent
07. Gruesome Modification Of Form
08. Obsequies Of Mankind
09. The Memorial
10. Into Shadows
11. Garden Of Delight
12. Profound Harmony
13. Soulless Sanity
14. Gruesome Modification Of Form (live)
15. Obsequies Of Mankind (live)
16. Darkness Of The Dead (live)
17. Exhume To Consume (live)
18. Blood, Pus And Gastric Juice (live)
* Tracks 1-4 taken from the “Human Relic” demo (1991)
* Tracks 5-8 taken from the “Obsequies …” demo (1991)
* Tracks 9-10 taken from the “Into Shadows” EP (1992)
* Tracks 11-13 taken from the “Promo ’95” demo (1995)
* Tracks 14-18 are previously unreleased live tracks (1991) – only on CD

“Within The Shadow Of Darkness” features cover artwork by German/Swiss artist Carlos Schwabe († 1926) whose creepy painting “La Vague” fits the release like perfectly. The album is packed with everything you can ask for: liner notes by the band, a detailed interview done by Nicola Costantini (well known for his books “Encyclopedia of Svensk Dödsmetall” and “The Return … Of Svensk Dödsmetall”), all lyrics and loads of old flyers, photos, covers, fanzine interviews, etc.

“Within The Shadow Of Darkness – The Complete Recordings” is meant for all those true fans who either missed the chance to get a copy of the super-rare album, demos or EP of the band or who don’t have the money to pay a fortune for them at online auctions. It’s also released to stop the material for being bootlegged. This album is the one and only official release of GOREMENT to date.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *