Guitarist ROWAN ROBERTSON Talks DIO, DC4 In Audio Interview

Bay Area Rocks recently conducted an interview with former DIO and current DC4 guitarist Rowan Robertson. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

DC4 is the Los Angeles-based hard rock band featuring Rowan Robertson alongside brothers Jeff Duncan (ARMORED SAINT, ODIN) on lead vocals and guitar, Shawn Duncan (ODIN) on drums and Matt Duncan on bass.

The group released its latest album, “Electric Ministry”, in Europe on August 1, 2011 via Metal Blade Records.

“Welcome to the alter of conviction” snarls Jeff Duncan as the band launches into the title track from their fourth release, “Electric Ministry”. Tackling subjects such as being on the wrong side of Johnny Law (“25 To Life”), the ultimate male specimen (“Rock God”) and the pleasures of the flesh (“XXX”) the quartet blast through eleven tracks on the opus produded by Bill Metoyer and co-produced by Jeff Duncan.

Metoyer, who has worked with the likes of ARMORED SAINT, FATES WARNING, W.A.S.P. and SLAYER, among countless other bands, is basically a member of the DC4 family. “I first met Bill when he engineered ARMORED SAINT‘s ‘Revelation’ album,” says Jeff. “Before long he started showing up at DC4 shows, checking us out. And he kept showing up more and more, it kind of became more than just showing up to see your friend play, ya know? So, we started talking and when the opportunity came up for us to work together he just jumped on board.”

“We made a point of making ‘Electric Ministry’ a real guitar album. Back to our roots as guitarists.” says Rowan Robertson. “I think on our last album ‘Explode’ we still had a bit of that ’90s feel in us so we’ve gotten rid of that now.”

“This was the first time we had any special guests appear on a DC4 album,” relates, Jeff. “We had Dizzy Reed from GUNS N’ ROSES provide keys on the songs ‘Dirty Hands’ and ‘The Ballad Of Rock and Roll’, Gonzo from ARMORED SAINT played percussion on several tracks, also. Then we had our cousin, Erin Duncan, do backing vocals on ‘The Ballad Of Rock’n’Roll’ and Juliette Primrose (MICHAEL FLATLEY’S LORD OF THE DANCE) played violin on ‘The Ballad Of Rock and Roll’ as well.”

“Electric Ministry” track listing:

01. Wrecktory
02. Electric Ministry
03. XXX
04. Rock God
05. 25 to Life
06. Broken Soul
07. People
08. The Ballad of Rock and Roll
09. Glitter Girl
10. Sociopath
11. Dirty Hands

“XXX” is now available for streaming in the YouTube clip below.

Forming as the 21st Century became a reality DC4 came to be when Jeff Duncan met Rowan Robertson, the band’s musical pedigree is virtually unrivaled by their peers.

Jeff and I met when a local promoter named Happenin’ Harry asked us both to be in his backing back for a few shows in the LA area and in Chicago,” relates Robertson. “When we got back to L.A. he just flat out asked if I wanted to join DC4 and we got along so well and played so great together that I just had to do it.”

Jeff recalls that “I wasn’t into the whole idea of auditioning guitarists, We would know the right one when he came long and that’s exactly what happened. He was looking for the sort of situation we had to offer and as it turned out, we were looking for him!”

Having spent time in such bands as the legendary DIO, metal heroes ARMORED SAINT, the short-lived VIOLET’S DEMISE and ODIN, a band who had reached cult status by the end of the 1980s without ever leaving Hollywood, DC4 is much more than just your average hard rock act.

DC4 is:

Jeff Duncan – Lead vocals, guitar,
Rowan Robertson – Guitars
Matt Duncan – Bass
Shawn Duncan – Drums, percussion

For more information, visit



“XXX” audio stream: