GUNS N’ ROSES Kicks Off Series Of ‘Intimate’ New York Shows; Video Available

GUNS N’ ROSES played the first of seven intimate small theatre/club shows and the first of three shows in New York City last night (Friday, February 10) at Roseland Ballroom. According to a review by The New York Times critic Stacey Anderson, “The nearly three-hour show was laden with familiar extravagances: grandiose guitar solos, the band’s aggressively priapic stage presence, [Axl] Rose‘s multiple costume changes and pliant snake dance. Yet it was a far more streamlined production than past outings; it almost started on time, for one, with nary an onstage tantrum. Mr. Rose remained the sole original member, though the keyboardist Dizzy Reed has hung on since the early 1990s; the backing musicians suggested a giddy, faithful cover act.”

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Welcome To The Jungle
02. It’s So Easy
03. Mr. Brownstone
04. Estranged
05. Rocket Queen
06. This I Love
07. Richard Fortus Guitar Solo (James Bond Theme)
08. Live and Let Die (Paul McCartney Wings cover)
09. Sorry
10. You Could Be Mine
11. Better
12. DJ Ashba Guitar Solo (Ballad of Death)
13. Sweet Child O’ Mine
14. Instrumental Jam (Another Brick In The Wall: Part 2)
15. November Rain (with Happy Birthday to Axl Rose)
16. Bumblefoot Guitar Solo (Pink Panther Theme)
17. Whole Lotta Rosie (AC/DC cover)
18. Civil War
19. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (Bob Dylan cover)
20. Nightrain


21. Instrumental Jam
22. Madagascar
23. Don’t Cry
24. Motivation (Tommy Stinson song) (Tommy Stinson on lead vocals)
25. Instrumental Jam
26. Patience
27. Instrumental Jam
28. Paradise City

Multi-camera video footage of last night’s concert can be seen below.

GUNS N’ ROSES will perform on Sunday at Terminal 5 and at Webster Hall on Wednesday.

The band in December completed its first U.S. tour since 2006.

In addition to sole original member Axl Rose, the current lineup of GUNS N’ ROSES includes guitarists Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, Richard Fortus and DJ Ashba, bassist Tommy Stinson, keyboardists Dizzy Reed and Chris Pitman and drummer Frank Ferrer.

“Chinese Democracy”, the 2008 album released by the current edition of GUNS N’ ROSES after a 15-year wait, was officially certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) on February 3, 2009 for shipments in the United States in excess of one million copies. The long-in-the-making, 14-song CD finally arrived 17 years after the last full-length collections of original GUNS material, “Use Your Illusion I” and “II”, were released, and nine years after the non-album track “Oh My God” surfaced on the soundtrack of the movie “End Of Days”.

“Chinese Democracy” was made available exclusively through Best Buy.

The original five-piece group, along with drummer Matt Sorum and keyboardist Dizzy Reed, will be inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in Cleveland on April 14.