HIGH ON FIRE’s ‘The Art Of Self Defense’ To Be Reissued With Bonus Tracks

Adding to its ever-growing catalog of sonic enormity, Southern Lord Recordings has announce the reissue of “The Art Of Self Defense”, the classic first recording from Oakland power trio HIGH ON FIRE. Set for release on July 31, the landmark long player has been completely remastered and enhanced by Brad Boatright (SLEEP, NOOTHGRUSH, OFF!) and includes the addition of the band’s first-ever demo, two bonus seven-inch tracks as well as a 48-page booklet.

“The Art of Self Defense” reissue track listing:

01. Baghdad
02. 10,000 Years
03. Blood From Zion
04. Last
05. Fireface
06. Master of Fists

Bonus 7″ Tracks (2001)

07. Steel Shoe
08. The Usurper (CELTIC FROST cover)

Self-Titled Demo (1999)

09. Blood From Zion
10. 10,000 Years
11. Master of Fists

“The Art Of Self Defense” was initially released in 2000 by Man’s Ruin Records. Featuring the collective energies of guitarist/vocalist Matt Pike, drummer Des Kensel, and bassist George Rice with producer Billy Anderson, the record billows at the seams with Pike‘s instantly recognizable guitar tone, first unleashed during his days with stoner metal behemoths SLEEP. An audio hail storm of piledriving riffs, booming rhythms and Pike‘s gruff vocal tirades, “The Art Of Self Defense” remains a staple in HIGH ON FIRE‘s renowned catalog of audio greatness.