I AM I Loses Second Member In Less Than A Week

According to Über Rock, guitarist Greg Pullin has left I AM I, the new band led by former DRAGONFORCE singer ZP Theart — less than four days after it was announced the group was parting ways with its drummer Paul Clarke Jr. for “personal reasons.”

Comments Pullin: “As a young musician, I was absolutely thrilled to be asked to join the band. As soon as I first heard their album in the days before the auditions I knew I loved the style of music, and since then have looked forward to performing and touring with the guys throughout the future. However, although I had a genuinely strong connection with everyone musically, and faced the opportunity with full commitment, I have decided to leave for personal reasons.

“I have enjoyed my time rehearsing and performing with the guys, and it has been particularly enjoyable to work with lead guitarist and composer Jacob [Ziemba]. As well as having a phenomenal ability as a guitar player, he demonstrates an outstanding capability to write brilliant music, which has undoubtedly been the major driving force behind the band’s style and sound on [I AM I‘s debut album] ‘Event Horizon’.”

In other news, I AM I has signed a worldwide publishing deal through Sony/ATV Music. Their deal, via Albam Songs, means they join a roster that includes Bob Dylan, THE BEATLES, Robert Plant, PEARL JAM, BON JOVI and Lady Gaga.

I AM I are an incredibly exciting band. It’s great to be involved from the very beginning,” says Alan Bambrough of Sony/ATV Music Publishing Limited. “‘Event Horizon’ is a brilliant album and there’s no limit to what these guys can achieve.”

I AM I has already recruited a replacement for Clarke, but has not revealed the new musician’s identity.

I AM I‘s next live appearance will take place on August 11 at this year’s Bloodstock Open Air festival at Catton Hall in Walton On Trent, Derbyshire, England.

I AM I made its live debut on May 27 at Birmingham, England’s O2 Academy 2.

I AM I released its debut album, “Event Horizon”, independently on May 26. Written and produced by Theart and Jacob Ziemba and mixed and mastered by Roland Grapow (HELLOWEEN, MASTERPLAN), the CD is described in a press release as “an absolutely blistering slice of heavy rock liberally infused with Theart‘s passion, energy and soaring vocals.”

“Event Horizon” was, according to I AM I, the first-ever heavy metal album to be released solely on USB. The stick is packaged in a CD case and includes full artwork and all the usual content you would expect on a disc and more. The effort is available to order from the official I AM I web site.

“Event Horizon” track listing:

01. This is My Life
02. Silent Genocide
03. Stay A While
04. Cross The Line
05. In The Air Tonight
06. King In Ruins
07. Kiss Of Judas
08. Dust 2 Dust
09. Wasted Wonders
10. Pave The Way

The “Silent Genocide” video can be seen below.

DRAGONFORCE parted ways with Theart in March 2010 “due to insurmountable differences of musical opinion,” according to a statement released by the British extreme epic power metal band.

After entries from thousands of hopefuls across the globe, DRAGONFORCE in March 2011 welcomed then-23-year-old Marc Hudson to the group.


“Silent Genocide” video:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *