ICARUS WITCH To Release ‘Rise’ In July

On July 3, Cleopatra Records will release the fifth studio record from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania-based melodic metallers ICARUS WITCH. “Rise” is an epic twelve-track display of songwriting and musicianship from one of the most-watched heavy music bands of the decade. From the driving, anthemic “(We Are) The New Revolution” to the equally commanding title track, “Rise”, ICARUS WITCH demonstrates impeccable harmonies, head-spinning dual guitar work, and hammering rhythm. Lyrically, the band is digging deep into themes of control (loss of, and taking it back), empowerment (within and without), and faith (and keeping it). The CD was produced by Dave Watson (MANTIC RITUAL, ARGUS) and mastered by Mark Richardson (BARONESS, THE BLACK KEYS).

Says ICARUS WITCH bassist Jason Myers: “On ‘Rise’, all restrictions of what we could or could not do were removed. The result is a completely fresh approach, new territory being explored, more diversity, better energy, by far the biggest progression in songwriting in the band’s history. This album took courage to create. We certainly didn’t take the safe or expected route and know that we’re rolling the dice with some bold moves.”

Adds drummer Tom Wierzbicky: “This was a very unique album that we put together. There were times where you would be pulling from the other side of the spectrum, sometimes taking yourself out of your comfort zone.”

“Rise” track listing:

01. The End
02. (We Are) The New Revolution
03. Rise
04. Asylum Harbour
05. Coming Of The Storm
06. Tragedy
07. Say When
08. Break The Cycle
09. Nothing Is Forever
10. Pray
11. In The Dark
12. Last Call For Living

The “Rise” title track is available for streaming at this location.

By supporting artists as diverse as BLACK SABBATH, PAUL DI’ANNO (as backing band as well), CINDERELLA, TWISTED SISTER, OTEP, DORO, FUEL, and COHEED CAMBRIA, ICARUS WITCH has earned a large international fan base that consists of hardcore headbangers, hip art rockers, and indie kids.

In August, ICARUS WITCH launches a tour with Earache RecordsWHITE WIZZARD and Pure Steel artist WIDOW.

ICARUS WITCH is Christopher Shaner (vocals), Quinn Lukas (guitar), Dave Watson (guitars/keys), Jason Myers (bass), and Tom Wierzbicky (drums).