ICED EARTH Mainman Issues New Album Update

American power metallers ICED EARTH have entered the studio to begin recording their new album, “Dystopia”, for a tentative late 2011 release via Century Media Records. The CD will mark the band’s recording debut with singer Stu Block (INTO ETERNITY), who joined ICED EARTH in March following the departure of Matt Barlow. (Note: Barlow is performing with the band on all summer festival dates. Block will take over from there, starting with the European leg of ICED EARTH‘s world tour in November.)

Commented ICED EARTH guitarist/mainman Jon Schaffer: “All is well here as we are pushing forward with master tracking the new album, ‘Dystopia’.

“We have finished drums and rhythm guitars and are right on schedule.

“I’ll be heading to Europe tomorrow for a few festival dates and then right back to work in the studio on Monday.

“[Producer] Jim Morris and I are having a great time, as usual, and are very much looking forward to starting vocal tracks with ‘Stucifer’ next week!

Stu Block has contributed a lot to the vocal parts on this record, with co-writing credits on 10 out of 12 songs, and I’m very happy with our chemistry and what we’ve accomplished together so far. And we’re just getting started.”

Songtitles set to appear on “Dystopia”:

* Dystopia
* Anthem
* Days of Rage
* Soylent Green
* V
* Boiling Point
* Tragedy and Triumph
* Anguish of Youth
* Iron Will

ICED EARTH‘s long-awaited live DVD extravaganza, “Festivals Of The Wicked”, boasts nearly six hours of material — three full headliner shows (over 40 live tracks!), a photo gallery shot by famed rock photographer Ross Halfin, plus a 90-minute documentary. It was released on June 27 in Europe and July 12 in the U.S.