‘If You Like Metallica…’ Book-Release Party To Be Held At Duff’s Brooklyn

The official release party for the book “If You Like Metallica…” (Backbeat Books) by Mike McPadden will be held on Friday, September 7 at 8:00 p.m. at Duff’s Brooklyn in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

The address is:

Duff’s Brooklyn
168 Marcy Avenue (between S 5th Broadway)
Williamsburg, New York

For more information, visit www.duffsbrooklyn.com.

McPadden will be reading from the book, and special guests will give live “Metal Trauma” readings from writers, musicians, and other headbanging wordsmiths on the topic of awesome/atrocious/humiliating/hilarious personal war stories from the frontlines of heavy metal.

Special guests include:

* Charly Roth (“The Liza Colby Sound”)
* Mike Edison (author of Dirty, Dirty, Dirty and I Have Fun Everywhere I Go)
* Julianne Smolinski (MTV, xoJane, Today Show)
* Judy McGuire (author of The Official Sex, Drugs, and Rock-n-Roll Book of Lists)
* Christine Colby (Penthouse magazine)
* Lilah Wild (Goddess of Thunder)
* Mike Edison (Dirty! Dirty! Dirty!, I Have Fun Everywhere I Go)
* Julianne Smolinski (MTV, xoJane)
* David Szulkin aka Dave Depraved (Blood Farmers, Grindhouse Releasing)
* Christine Colby (Penthouse Magazine)
* Rachel McPadden (xoJane)
* Dean Rispler (Drug Front Records)
* Judy McGuire (Official Book of Sex, Drugs, and Rock-N-Roll Lists, Seattle Weekly)
* Charly Roth (The Liza Colby Sound)
* LC von Hessen (Mass Culture, Propagandist Productions)
* Sean Sakamoto (The Existential Weather Report)
* Lilah Wild (Goddess of Thunder)
* Meirav Devash (Allure)

In hard rock history, there is the time before METALLICA and there is everything that has come since: metal, punk, industrial, grunge, alternative — all of it absorbed, transformed, and reinvented by the band that, for decades, has ruled as both THE BEATLES and THE ROLLING STONES of heavy music. From garage rock to the avant-garde, indie pop to hardcore punk and, of course, all shades of metal, “If You Like Metallica…” illuminates the sounds and styles that influenced and have been influenced by this band, in addition to nonmusical elements such movies, books, and cultural iconoclasts. Just as METALLICA expanded heavy metal to new meanings and new possibilities, “If You Like Metallica…” expands being a fan of the band to an education and a treasure hunt that, put as bluntly as a devil-fingered salute to the face, rocks.

“If You Like Metallica…” is available for purchase at this location.

 

 

 

Comment