IMPERIA Frontwoman Interviewed On ‘Rockulus Maximus’ (Audio)

On November 11, Gary Clarke, who presents the re-launched rock show “Rockulus Maximus”, described as “the most northerly rock show on the U.K. mainland,” conducted an interview with with Norwegian singer Helena Iren Michaelsen, frontwoman of gothic rockers IMPERIA.

During the chat, Helena — who was the original vocalist of the Holland-based band SAHARA DUST, which later changed its name to EPICA — describes how she converted her home into a recording studio for the recording process of IMPERIA‘s current album, “Secret Passion”. She also explains what her highlights have been thus far in her career with IMPERIA and discusses what comparisons have been made to the band, and also reveals what is lined up for future activities.

“Rockulus Maximus” airs every Friday night locally on Caithness FM to the Northern region of the Highlands.

To find out more about the show, go to

A two-minute trailer for “Secret Passion” can be viewed below. Released on March 25 via Massacre Records, the CD’s first single, “Let Down”, features a guest appearance by cellist Tina Guo.

“Secret Passion” track listing:

01. Touch Of Your Hand
02. Secret Passion
03. Fragile
04. Out Of Sight
05. Let Down
06. Violence
07. Like Rain
08. Suicide
09. Hold On
10. Greed
11. Missing It All
12. My Sleeping Angel
13. Mistress (digipak bonus track)

IMPERIA‘s sophomore album, “Queen of Light”, was released in March 2007 via Massacre Records.


Helena Iren Michaelsen – Vocals
Steve Wolz – Drums
Gerry Verstreken – Bass
Jan “Örkki” Yrlund – Guitar