JAMES DURBIN ‘Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster’ Entire Album Available For Streaming

“American Idol” finalist James Durbin will release his debut solo album “Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster”, on November 21 via Wind-Up Records. The CD, which can be streamed in its entirety at AOL Music, includes a guest appearance by Mick Mars of MÖTLEY CRÜE, as well contributions from songwriters James Michael (SIXX: A.M., MÖTLEY CRÜE) and Marti Frederiksen (AEROSMITH, BUCKCHERRY, OZZY OSBOURNE), along with Swedish rock band HARDCORE SUPERSTAR.

When asked by Artisan News how the Mars collaboration came out, Durbin said, “Mick Mars actually reached out to us. I had met him at the MÖTLEY CRÜE show at the Hollywood Bowl when MÖTLEY played and NEW YORK DOLLS and POISON opened and I got to go back and meet Mick Mars. And when we were making the record, Mick Mars reached out and wanted to play on the record. [I was like] ‘Wow. You want to play on the record? We don’t need to ask you? You actually want to? Whoa! No freakin’ way!'”

Durbin, who co-wrote five of the albums tracks, previously said that it was “surreal” to be working with this bevy of rock royalty and recalled, “When Mick Mars started shredding on his guitar I literally lost my mind.” The long-time MÖTLEY CRÜE fan continued, saying, “He’s a true rock legend and he’s playing on my record. It doesn’t get any cooler than that.” Mick Mars concurred, “It was sick to have played on James‘ debut album. To be the only featured guest artist on the record was really cool as I know a lot of others wanted to be on it. James Durbin kicks ass; he’s the real deal.”

22-year-old Durbin was guided throughout the making of “Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster” by leading rock producer, Howard Benson. Benson (MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE, DAUGHTRY, MOTÖRHEAD) gives Durbin room to evolve musically on the hard-hitting album, saying the opportunity to work with Durbin was “pretty simple: I loved his voice. I think he has a compelling story to tell.” Benson, who kept his eye on Durbin throughout ‘Idol’ thought, “It was interesting that he spoke his mind and didn’t back down from who he was. That’s always a good sign.”

On “American Idol”, James Durbin waved the flag for rock and it was that devotion to rock that helped him overcome his private struggles with tourette’s and Asperger’s Syndrome. He touched the hearts of people everywhere while on the show, and with the release of “Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster” he is ready to wave that flag high again.

“Memories Of A Beautiful Disaster” track listing:

01. Higher Than Heaven
02. All I Want
03. Love In Ruins
05. Right Behind You
06. Love Me Bad
07. Deeper
08. May
09. Screaming
10. Outcast – feat. Mick Mars
11. Everything Burns
12. Stand Up