JON OLIVA’S PAIN: New Album Update

JON OLIVA’S PAIN, the band led by SAVATAGE mastermind Jon Oliva, is currently working on material for its fifth album for a 2012 release.

Commented JON OLIVA’S PAIN drummer Christopher Kinder: “We received a bunch of emails asking about the demo phase of each record and how the songs are put together. We hope this shines an interesting light on the process…

Jon and I record each and every idea whether it is a riff or entire parts of songs. We record as many instruments as possible. Guitars, bass, strings, and finger drums on the keyboard. Then I make a mix of those ideas and CDs are created.

“So far we have dozens of CDs to review and we will begin seaming some of those ideas together as working templates. From there he/I take them home and then we get together again and add or subtract from those ideas….and on and on.

Jon plays all the instruments on the demos.

“We rarely, if ever, rehearse live to put these songs together. Everything can be done quickly in Pro Tools and then for further review.

“To address the band player situation…

“As for the ‘band,’ we have made no decisions on anything at this point. The first objective right now is the songs. So we will continue the process as we have done since ‘Maniacal Renderings’, which is basically Jon‘s ideas and me crafting them into working songs and then we will worry about the rest of the details. Everything and everyone else involved with work itself out in the very near future.”

JON OLIVA’S PAIN guitarist Matt Laporte passed away at his home in Florida on April 20. A memorial concert was held on July 23 in St. Petersburg, Florida.

JON OLIVA’S PAIN‘s fourth album, “Festival”, was released in North America on April 12, 2010. The CD, which was issued in Europe on February 19, 2010 via AFM Records, entered the German Media Control chart at position No. 87.

JON OLIVA’S PAIN‘s third album, “Global Warning”, came out in the U.S. in May 2008 via Locomotive Records. The CD featured a guest appearance by guitarist Ralph Santolla (OBITUARY, DEICIDE, DEATH, ICED EARTH) on two songs: “Adding The Cost” and “You’ll Never Know”.