JON OLIVA’S PAIN: New Touring Guitarist Announced

JON OLIVA’S PAIN, the Florida-based band led by SAVATAGE mastermind Jon Oliva, will play SAVATAGE‘s classic 1987 album, “Hall Of The Mountain King”, in its entirety during a 15-date European tour in June and July. The group will also perform songs from DOCTOR BUTCHER (the early 1990s project created by Oliva and guitarist Chris Caffery at a time when they were not active members of SAVATAGE) as well as other classic SAVATAGE and JON OLIVA’S PAIN selections.

Commented JON OLIVA’S PAIN lead guitarist Jerry Outlaw: “In my mind, this tour will be dedicated to the memory of the late, great Matt LaPorte as well as Criss Oliva. I will honor their memory with every note I play.”

JON OLIVA’S PAIN will play warm-up show for its European tour on June 16 at the Ritz Theatre in Ybor City, Florida.

JON OLIVA’S PAIN‘s latest addition, guitarist Joseph Diaz, is also member of CEMETARY SLUTS (an original speed metal band) and FIGURE IN BLACK (a BLACK SABBATH tribute act). He has also played in DISASTERPEACE alongside former KING DIAMOND guitarist Pete Blakk and ex-CRIMSON GLORY singer Wade Black.

JON OLIVA’S PAIN 2012 touring lineup:

Jon Oliva – Vocals, Keyboards
Christopher Kinder – Drums
Jerry Outlaw – Guitar
Jason Jennings – Bass
Joseph Diaz – Guitar

“Hall Of The Mountain King” was the first SAVATAGE album to be produced by Paul O’Neill and it showed the beginning of the band’s progressive tendencies as they explored new forms of expression in their music. Many fans consider this LP a turning point in SAVATAGE‘s musical identity. As the group’s first concept effort, it had a constant tone and was more complex than their previous albums, with two entirely instrumental tracks that go beyond simple guitar riffs and solos, namely “Prelude To Madness” and “Last Dawn”.