JUDAS PRIEST: Entire ‘The Chosen Few’ Collection Available For Streaming

British heavy metal legends JUDAS PRIEST will release a new compilation album, “The Chosen Few”, on October 11 via Legacy/Sony. The collection contains songs that were selected by some of the biggest names of the hard rock/heavy metal world, including KISSGene Simmons, Ozzy Osbourne, Slash, METALLICA‘s James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, Alice Cooper and SLIPKNOT‘s Corey Taylor.

“The Chosen Few” is now available for streaming in its entirety at AOL Music.

“This is a collection of songs chosen by our friends and respected peers,” PRIEST frontman Rob Halford tells RollingStone.com. “So we hope all the metal maniacs out there will rock out to the tunes enjoyed by metal legends.”

“The Chosen Few” will contain explanations from the artists about each of their selections, including Taylor making the argument that PRIEST‘s early MTV anthem “You’ve Got Another Thing Coming” established the group as “the blueprint for the ultimate heavy metal band.”

Lars Ulrich (METALLICA) on “Beyond The Realms Of Death”: “The blueprint for the epic rock ballad. Copied thousands of times, never eclipsed.”

Ozzy Osbourne on “The Ripper”: “This has always been one of my favorite JUDAS PRIEST songs… I just want to know what the fuck that note is that Rob Halford hits in the beginning of the song. Fucking hell!! That note is probably just below what only dogs can hear.”

Alice Cooper on “Living After Midnight”: “For a metal band, PRIEST has always used tons of melody… when you have a singer as great as Rob Halford, you have to write great riffs WITH great melodies, you can’t just have riffs. ‘Living After Midnight’ is the perfect example…”

Slash (VELVET REVOLVER, GUNS N’ ROSES) on “Screaming For Vengeance”: “JUDAS PRIEST have put out their fair share of great albums to be sure. But my all-time favorite is ‘Screaming For Vengeance’. It was and still is, one of the best metal records ever produced and the title track is in my humble opinion, still ahead of its time.”

Corey Taylor (SLIPKNOT, STONE SOUR) on “You’ve Got Another Thing Coming”: “JUDAS PRIEST: the blueprint for the ultimate heavy metal band…”

“The Chosen Few” track listing:

01. Diamonds And Rust (1977) – chosen by Joe Elliott (DEF LEPPARD)
02. Dissident Aggressor (1977) – chosen by Steve Vai and Geoff Tate (QUEENSRŸCHE)
03. Exciter (1978) – chosen by ACCEPT
04. Beyond The Realms Of Death (1978) – chosen by Lars Ulrich (METALLICA)
05. Delivering The Goods (1979) – chosen by Kerry King (SLAYER)
06. The Green Manalishi (with the Two-Pronged Crown) (1979) – chosen by David Coverdale (WHITESNAKE) and Randy Blythe (LAMB OF GOD)
07. The Ripper (1979) – chosen by Ozzy Osbourne
08. Victim Of Changes (1979) – chosen by James Hetfield (METALLICA)
09. Breaking The Law (1980) – chosen by Lemmy (MOTÖRHEAD)
10. Rapid Fire (1980) – chosen by Vinnie Paul (PANTERA, HELLYEAH)
11. Grinder (1980) – chosen by Zakk Wylde (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY)
12. Living After Midnight (1980) – chosen by Alice Cooper and Geezer Butler (BLACK SABBATH)
13. Screaming For Vengeance (1982) – chosen by Slash (GUNS N ROSES)
14. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming (1982) – chosen by Klaus Meine (SCORPIONS) Corey Taylor (SLIPKNOT)
15. The Sentinel (1984) – chosen by Chris Jericho (FOZZY)
16. Turbo Lover (1986) – chosen by Jonathan Davis (KORN)
17. Painkiller (1990) – chosen by Joe Satriani