JUDAS PRIEST’s HALFORD, FAULKNER Discuss ‘Epitaph’ In New Video Interview

JUDAS PRIEST singer Rob Halford and guitarist Richie Faulkner spoke with Billboard.com about “Epitaph”, the concert film which documents the last stop of the quintet’s final world tour at London’s Hammersmith Odeon — now known as the Hammersmith Apollo — in May of last year. Check out the chat below.

A unique live career retrospective, “Epitaph” was made available on Blu-ray and separate DVD on May 28 through Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment. This release precedes a new studio album by JUDAS PRIEST which the band are working on now.

JUDAS PRIEST‘s current lineup comprises Rob Halford, lead guitarists Glenn Tipton and Faulkner, Ian Hill, and drummer Scott Travis.

Heavy metal historians will regard “Epitaph” as the most far-reaching live concert recording in the band’s career. The set revisits the climactic closing date of the 50-week “Epitaph” world tour, captured live at London’s HMV Hammersmith Apollo on May 26, 2012. Adding to the drama is the fact that this was JUDAS PRIEST‘s final large-scale world tour ever.

“Epitaph”‘s 23 tracks represent at least one song from every one of the band’s 14 studio albums, from 1974’s “Rocka Rolla” (“Never Satisfied”) to 2008’s “Nostradamus” (“Prophecy”). In the special case of “British Steel”, four songs are featured: “Rapid Fire”, “Metal Gods”, “Breaking The Law” and perennial set closer “Living After Midnight”. Others exempted from the one-song-quota are the LPs which appeared before and after “British Steel”. The first of these is 1979’s “Hell Bent For Leather” (U.K. title: “Killing Machine”) which lends the title song as well as “The Green Manalishi (With The Two-Pronged Crown)”. The other LP is 1982’s “Screaming For Vengeance”, source of “The Hellion”, “Electric Eye” and “You’ve Got Another Thing Coming”.

“Epitaph” track listing

01. Battle Hymn (L)
02. Rapid Fire (F)
03. Metal Gods (F)
04. Heading Out To The Highway (G)
05. Judas Rising (M)
06. Starbreaker (C)
07. Victim Of Changes (B)
08. Never Satisfied (A)
09. Diamonds And Rust (C)
10. Prophecy (N)
11. Night Crawler (L)
12. Turbo Lover (J)
13. Beyond The Realms Of Death (D)
14. The Sentinel (I)
15. Blood Red Skies (K)
16. The Green Manalishi (With The Two-Pronged Crown) (E)
17. Breaking The Law (F)
18. Painkiller (L)
19. The Hellion (H)
20. Electric Eye (H)
21. Hell Bent For Leather (E)
22. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming (H)
23. Living After Midnight (F)

Album index:

A – from “Rocka Rolla” (originally issued 1974, on Gull Records)
B – from “Sad Wings Of Destiny” (originally issued 1976, on Gull Records)
C – from “Sin After Sin” (originally issued 1977, on Columbia Records)
D – from “Stained Class” (originally issued 1978, on Columbia)
E – from “Hell Bent For Leather” (originally issued 1979, on Columbia; aka Killing Machine in UK)
F – from “British Steel” (originally issued 1980, on Columbia)
G – from “Point Of Entry” (originally issued 1981, on Columbia)
H – from “Screaming For Vengeance” (originally issued 1982, on Columbia)
I – from “Defenders Of the Faith” (originally issued 1984, on Columbia)
J – from “Turbo” (originally issued 1986, on Columbia)
K – from “Ram It Down” (originally issued 1988, on Columbia)
L – from “Painkiller” (originally issued 1990, on Columbia)
M – from “Angel Of Retribution” (originally issued 2005, on Epic Records)
N – from “Nostradamus” (originally issued 2008, on Epic)







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *