KRAKOW: New Album Artwork Unveiled; First Tracks Available For Streaming

Bergen-based post-metal crew KRAKOW has debuted two tracks from its upcoming album, “diin”, which is set for release on Dark Essence Records in September of this year. “diin” will be KRAKOW‘s sophomore album, and a follow-up to their 2009 debut, “Monolith”. The tracks “Hymn to the Winds” and “Future Past” can be heard using the SoundCloud player below.

As well as well as having debuted the tracks, KRAKOW have also revealed the cover art for “diin”, which has been designed by one of America’s foremost tattoo artist Thomas Hooper. Brooklyn-based Hooper, who, as well as being a tattooist is also well known for his paintings and designs, has previously worked with bands such as DOOMRIDERS, TOMB, SCOTT KELLY and OLD MAN GLOOM. According to KRAKOW guitarist and vocalist René Misje, the chance to work with Hooper is something the band relishes. “We are proud to have had such a talented and renowned artist to create the artwork for our new album,” he said. “We are big admirers of his work and we were honoured when he agreed to work with us. We are eternally grateful and can only hope that our music does justice to his art.”

Formed in 2005 by Frode Kilvik (bass, vocals), Kjartan Grønhaug (guitar) and René Misje (guitar, vocals), the band recently added KAMPFAR and MONDVOLLAND drummer Ask Ty Arctander to their lineup. With a sound that ranges from dark, evocative and mesmerizing to fast, aggressive and heavy, KRAKOW is a band that is not easily categorised, fitting as it does equally well within the post-rock, metal and stoner rock genres.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *