KVELERTAK: ‘Blodtørst’ Video Released

“Blodtørst”, the new Torjus Førre Erfjord-directed video from Norwegian blackened punk metallers KVELERTAK, can be seen below (courtesy of Metal Hammer magazine). The song comes off the band’s self-titled debut album, which was released June 21, 2010 via Indie Recordings. Produced by Kurt Ballou and mixed by Alan Douches with artwork by John Baizley and guest appearances by Hoest (TAAKE), Andreas Tylden (JR Ewing and ALTAAR), Ivar Nikolaisen (SILVER), and Ryan McKenney (TRAP THEM), “Kvelertak” has been dubbed “the best Norwegian debut album of all time,” and the band “the new MASTODON.”

“Kvelertak” received a North American release on March 15 via The End Records. The North American edition includes six bonus tracks: live recordings of the songs “Fossegrim”, “Sjøhyenar (Havets Herrer)”, “Blodtørst” and “Mjød” from the BBC Sessions last year, as well as demo versions of “Ordsmedar av Rang” and “Utrydd Dei Svake”.

KVELERTAK was honored in the “Best Newcomer” and “Best Rock” categories at the 39th annual Spellemann awards (the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy Awards). The largest and oldest Norwegian music awards show was held on March 5 at the Spektrum in Oslo, Norway and was broadcast live on the Norwegian channel TV2.

In February KVELERTAK won the Statoil grant and 1,000,000 NOK (approximately $180,000). The Statoil grant is a prize which helps promising Norwegian bands on the verge of international breakthrough to succeed internationally.

KVELERTAK shamelessly draws inspiration from every corner of anything that fits into its idea of hard-hitting, catchy, extreme rock ‘n’ roll regardless of genre, always truthful to the basic idea of the band: good songs performed with the tongue-in-cheek attitude of their punk-rock pioneers. Unlike the majority of heavier bands, they sing in their native language, adding yet more character to their already unique sound.


Metal Hammer – Kvelertak – Blodtørst (Metal Hammer Exclusive!) on MUZU.TV.