LUNAR PATH To Release ‘Memento Mori’ Next Month

Finnish melodic gothic metal/rock band LUNAR PATH will release its debut album, “Memento Mori”, on February 1 via Inverse Records.

According to a press release, “Memento Mori” is “a concept album about a downward spiral in depression and death, set out to stretch the boundaries of traditional melodic/gothic metal with its dark and brooding atmosphere. This nightmarish journey through hell and back was inspired by arson, mishaps, bad luck as well as the lineup changes the band endured during these past years. These events shaped the band and transformed the album into a dynamic ensemble with warm and cold flashes of traditional metal and darkly progressive stunts, promising to raise eyebrows and make hearts race.”

“Memento Mori” features guest appearances by such acclaimed musicians and vocalists such as Attila Csihar (MAYHEM, ABORYM), Tuomas Saukkonen (BEFORE THE DAWN, BLACK SUN AEON), Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto (CHARON, NORTHERN KINGS, HARMAJA) and Antti Leskinen (FATAL SOUND PROJECT, CHAINED, MURENA).

Formed in late 2006, LUNAR PATH released a few demos and EPs before starting to work on “Memento Mori”. The band became victims of arson in early 2010 when a deranged person intentionally set fire to the ground floor of their practice flat while the band was playing, trapping them upstairs. During the attempt to reach safety, guitarist and album producer Jonas Eriksson sustained severe damage to his foot, but luckily nobody else was hurt in the fire. The band didn’t spend their time crying over spilled milk as a few months later the band toured Scandinavia supporting DEATHSTARS and ex-IRON MAIDEN vocalist Paul Di’Anno; with Eriksson playing the entire tour sitting down with his broken leg in a cast.

LUNAR PATH lead vocalist Janica Lönn has been working with BLACK SUN AEON lately, most notably singing on their newly released and highly acclaimed “Blacklight Deliverance” album. She will also perform live with BLACK SUN AEON at this year’s Summer Breeze open-air festival in Germany and other European festivals.

“Memento Mori” track listing

01. The Beginning And The End
02. Promise Me
03. We’ll Be There
04. The One Behind The Mirror
05. Thin White Lines
06. In The End (feat. Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto)
07. Deadweight
08. Farewell To Arms
09. The Only Way Out Is Through
10. Walls Are Whispering (feat. Attila Csihar)
11. Close The Door
12. Nothing To Regret
13. Drag Me Down To Hell (feat. Tuomas Saukkonen, Antti Leskinen)
14. Who Are You Talking To?
15. River Runs Deep