MACHINE HEAD: New Photos From The Studio Posted Online

San Francisco Bay Area metallers MACHINE HEAD entered GREEN DAY‘s Jingletown Studios in Oakland, California on April 16 to begin recording their as-yet-untitled seventh album for a tentative September release via Roadrunner Records.

Check out photos from the studio at

When asked about the lyrical themes covered on MACHINE HEAD‘s new CD, guitarist/vocalist Robb Flynn told “Metal Zone” host Nikki Blakk of the San Francisco, California radio station 107.7 The Bone, “One song we’ve got called ‘Locust’, it’s… the way the locusts fly when they fly in swarms, they can fly, but they can’t control which direction they go, so they can only float on the wind, and they come down and they cause all this destruction and they fly away, go wherever the wind takes them again. And the song’s basically a metaphor for a type of person that sometimes comes into your life and has that effect.”

Regarding what new things MACHINE HEAD fans can expect to hear on the band’s forthcoming CD, drummer Dave McClain told Horns Up Rocks!, “For the past two records [as well as] this one, we’ve really been writing for ourselves. And we don’t really have a set plan; we didn’t really sit down and even go, like, ‘We had a bunch of long songs on the last record, we’ve gotta do a bunch of short ones.’ We had some time off and we started itching to get back in and start writing — just whatever was flowing out. And it’s killer, man; it’s super-exciting. We’re all really, really excited about what happened, what came out. We feel like we’ve got another kick-ass album on our hands and we can’t wait for everybody to hear it.”

A six-minute video clip in which the four members of MACHINE HEAD talk about the forthcoming CD can be viewed below.

Working songtitles for next MACHINE HEAD album:

* This Is The End
* Who We Are
* Pearls Before Swine
* Under The August Moon
* I Am Hell
* Darkness Within
* Locust

Photos credit: