MADBALL: Another New Song Available For Streaming

New York hardcore legends MADBALL recently spent five days at the Mana Recording Studios in St. Petersberg, Florida with producer Erik Rutan (HATE ETERNAL, CANNIBAL CORPSE, MORBID ANGEL) recording their new EP, “Rebellion”, to be released later this month via The BNB Label, a brand extension of frontman Freddy Cricien‘s Black N Blue Productions group. The six-song effort contains four new tracks and newly recorded versions of two cuts from the band’s legendary 1989 seven-inch single, “Ball Of Destruction”.

“Rebellion” marks the first MADBALL recording with former UNEARTH and THE RED CHORD member Mike Justian, who has served as MADBALL‘s touring drummer for the past year.

Speaking to AOL‘s Noisecreep, MADBALL vocalist Freddy Cricien stated about the process of re-recording 23-year-old material, “I was 12 when we did that original recording, and I don’t have the best memory when it comes to a lot of things, but I do remember that session.”

He added, “We recorded ‘Ball Of Destruction’ at Don Fury‘s studio on two tracks, live, with no overdubs. You went there, paid him a few hundred dollars and bang everything out. That session had me, Vinnie Stigma (AGNOSTIC FRONT) on guitars, my brother Roger (Miret, AGNOSTIC FRONT) on bass and Will Shepler (ex-AGNOSTIC FRONT) on drums. We also had Craig Setari (SICK OF IT ALL) and Mark Ryan (SUPERTOUCH) on backing vocals. As gritty as the original recording was, it was cool to be able to go in and re-record a couple of the tracks for this new EP.”

“Rebellion” EP track listing

01. Reap What You Sow
02. The Beast
03. Get Out (“Ball Of Destruction” re-recording)
04. Rebellion
05. My Blood
06. It’s My Life (“Ball Of Destruction” re-recording)

“My Blood” audio stream (courtesy of


“The Beast” audio stream (courtesy of AOL‘s Noisecreep):


According to Cricien, “The Beast” “is about going through the trauma of an anxiety attack. It’s something a lot of us have unfortunately have had to deal with, me included. It’s a different kind of song, lyrically, for MADBALL, but it’s just like anything else we’ve written about… it’s very real.”

An eight-minute video clip featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the “Rebellion” recording sessions can be seen below.

MADBALL released its latest album, “Empire”, in a special red vinyl format on November 22, 2010.

“Empire” sold around 1,500 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 15 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Empire” was released on October 12, 2010 via Good Fight Music. The CD was recorded at Mana Recording Studios with Erik Rutan.