MALEFICE Announces New Guitarist

After a baptism of fire standing in for Alex Vuskans on the band’s recent U.K. run with SYLOSIS, British modern metallers MALEFICE have announced that Andy Wilson will take over on a permanent basis.

Commented Wilson: “I am very excited to be taking on the MALEFICE slot full-time. The SYLOSIS tour couldn’t have gone any better and the musical chemistry is undeniable. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for the band.”

Added frontman Dale Butler: “There’s always controversy surrounding a bandmember leaving in any band. But I can’t stress enough how there is none in this situation. Alex felt he could no longer continue to give 100% to MALEFICE, and between us, we decided that it would be better for him to leave. Alex is closer to me than most of my family, he’ll always be my brother no matter what and nothing will change between us all on a personal level.

“Those of you that saw us on the SYLOSIS tour will have seen Andy at work. The guy is a fucking machine, and I can’t think of anyone else I’d rather have as my lead guitarist! Andy has already brought new ideas to this band that we’ll be working on together in the future!”

Vuskans has released the following parting statement: “I just want to say a massive massive thank you to everyone that’s come to the shows, bought our albums and supported myself and the boys over the last 10 years that I’ve been in MALEFICE. You guys are awesome and have helped create memories that last with me for a lifetime. I also want to go on record and state that there is NO bad blood between myself and the other members in the band; they still and always will be my brothers no matter what. I simply feel that now is the time for me to try new things in my life, whatever they may be. I wish nothing but success to the guys for the future and look forward to following their continued journey as a fan and not an active member. It’s been emotional!!”

MALEFICE‘s third full-length album, “Awaken The Tides”, was released in the U.K. on July 18, in the rest of Europe on July 15, and in North America on August 2 via Metal Blade Records. The 10-song effort was recorded at The Face studios in Reading with drums laid down at Fortress Studios in London. All tracks were mixed and mastered by Justin Hill.