THE MAN-EATING TREE: ‘Armed’ Video Released

“Armed”, the new video from THE MAN-EATING TREE — the atmospheric metal band featuring former SENTENCED drummer Vesa Ranta alongside current/former members of POISONBLACK, REFLEXION and EMBRAZE — can be seen below. The clip was filmed by Mutant Koala Pictures, a production company based in the band’’s hometown of Oulu, Finland.

“Armed” comes off THE MAN-EATING TREE‘s sophomore album, “Harvest”, which will be released on November 28 via Century Media Records. The CD was once again helmed by producer Hiili Hiilesmaa (HIM, SENTENCED, AMORPHIS) and marks the recording debut of guitarist Antti Karhu.

Commented THE MAN-EATING TREE vocalist Tuomas Tuominen: “‘Armed’ was one of the first songs written for ‘Harvest’. In essence, it’s about how precious our time here is. How it sometimes feels as if hours and years could be seized into the wrong hands and pointed at you — as they were a weapon. A weapon that cannot be disarmed. Time is a weapon that will kill everyone. Mercilessly.”

THE MAN-EATING TREE will support AMORPHIS on a European tour which will kick off on December 26 in Jens, Germany. Also scheduled to appear on the bill is LEPROUS.

THE MAN-EATING TREE‘s debut album, “Vine”, was released in Finland on September 22, 2010 via Cobra Records and in other territories through Century Media Records.

According to the group’s official bio, THE MAN-EATING TREE was formed when “Vesa Ranta, having taken a break from music after SENTENCED, began to overcome his post-SENTENCED battle fatigue and lack of musical motivation. The idea of a new band — or bands — was eventually brainstormed over a period of time between Vesa and his friends, including gentlemen Miika Tenkula, Aaron Rantonen, Janne Markus and Mikko Uusimaa. Plans were made reality in 2009; the outfit was completed by the addition of Tuomas Tuominen as a vocalist and Heidi Määttä as a keyboard player. First demo recordings were made in the spring and summer of 2009.


Tuomas Tuominen (ex-FALL OF THE LEAFE) – Vocals
Janne Markus (POISONBLACK) – Guitar
Antti Karhu – Guitar
Mikko Uusimaa (REFLEXION) – Bass
Heidi Määttä (ex-EMBRAZE) – Keyboards
Vesa Ranta (ex-SENTENCED) – Drums

For more information, visit