MARILYN MANSON To Release ‘No Reflection’ 7" Single For ‘Record Store Day’

Marilyn Manson will release his new single, “No Reflection”, as a white seven-inch vinyl in Europe on April 21. The vinyl will be strictly limited to 1500 copies and will feature “No Reflection” (album version) and “No Reflection” (single edit). The release is in support of Record Store Day.

About Record Store Day: Record Store Day is managed by the Music Monitor Network and is organized in partnership with the Alliance Of Independent Media Stores (AIMS), the Coalition Of Independent Music Stores (CIMS) and celebrates the culture of independent record stores by playing host to in-store events/performances, signings and special product releases on a global scale.

Record Store Day takes place annually on the third Saturday of April.

MARILYN MANSON will release his long-awaited new album, “Born Villain”, on May 1 (one day earlier internationally) via Cooking Vinyl and Manson‘s own label Hell, Etc.

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. Hey Cruel World…
02. No Reflection
03. Pistol Whipped
04. Overneath The Path Of Misery
05. Slo Mo Tion
06. The Gardener
07. The Flowers Of Evil
08. Children Of Cain
09. Disengaged
10. Lay Down Your Goddamn Arms
11. Murders Are Getting Prettier Every Day
12. Born Villain
13. Breaking The Same Old Ground

Check out the front and back cover artwork below.

The album’s first single, “No Reflection”, was premiered on March 7 on the Los Angeles radio station KROQ and was made available exclusively on iTunes on March 13.

“The new record put simply has the ambition and determination of how I started making music in the first place,” Manson says. “It sounds like the first record in that it’s not afraid to do anything. I had to remove myself from my lifestyle and start fresh.”

In a recent interview with Revolver magazine, Manson stated about his new CD, “It doesn’t really sound like any of my old records. In fact it sort of sounds like what I listened to before I made records — KILLING JOKE, JOY DIVISION, REVOLTING COCKS, BAUHAUS, BIRTHDAY PARTY … It’s very rhythm-driven. It’s actually very bluesy. It’s the first record where I repeat verses. I just sign the words in a different key, the next time. I’ve never done that before, because I’ve always felt like I needed to write a lot of words in the past … I think this will probably be the grandest concept record of all.”

Manson‘s U.S. theater tour is scheduled to kick off April 27.

The singer last September unveiled a new music video for the song “Born Villain” directed by actor Shia LaBeouf.

Drummer Ginger Fish (real name: Kenneth Robert Wilson) quit MARILYN MANSON in February 2011 and has since joined ROB ZOMBIE. He has been replaced by the Los Angeles-based drummer Jason Sutter.

MARILYN MANSON in 2009 parted ways with longtime record label Interscope following the disappointing sales performance of “The High End Of Low”.

When asked what the problem was with Interscope, Manson told Revolver magazine, “They don’t care about music. They never did. I mean, Jimmy Iovine [Chairman of InterscopeGeffenAM] used to, when he produced records a long time ago. They care about Vitamin Water… And when you’ve got so much money, it’s just about ego. I don’t really care what their problem is. I was just happy to get out of there. And I have to be objective, I don’t take it personally. I don’t regret the records I made — I regret the way they treated them. I think I made great records, and they tried to dilute the very essence of what they signed me for. ‘Don’t be so offensive’ — what the fuck does that mean? ‘Don’t be what we signed you for. Don’t be what you are.'”

He added, “I would say after ‘Antichrist Superstar’… It was a pressure that everyone’s on your back, flashing cameras and suggestions and publicists, saying, ‘Oh, you’ve gotta do this, or you’re not going to be successful!’ You almost start to question what you do and why you do it, and that will lead to you losing your identity. And that’s something no one can fix, no psychiatrist, no legal team, no scientists, no anything. You just have to really strip it down and go back to the basics. the bigger picture is that I can’t really consider myself simply a musician, with my painting and everything visual. It’s always been a big struggle. From the beginning, the question was, ‘Aren’t you worried that the image will overshadow the music?’ I’m like, absolutely not — it’s hand in hand. But then, when I became a painter, I didn’t want to seem like the rock star with a hobby.”

“The High End Of Low” was Manson‘s first album with longtime bassist Twiggy Ramirez since 2000’s “Holy Wood”.


“Born Villain” front cover:


“Born Villain” back cover:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *