METALLICA: Official 33-Minute Video Recap Of Second 30th-Anniversary Show

METALLICA has posted a 33-minute video recap of the second of four intimate shows at the Fillmore in San Francisco as part of the week-long celebration of its 30th anniversary as a band for fan club members only. Check it out below.

Lou Reed, King Diamond (MERCYFUL FATE), Hank Shermann (MERCYFUL FATE), Timi Hansen (MERCYFUL FATE), Michael Denner (MERCYFUL FATE) , Marianne Faithfull, Ray Haller (SWEET SAVAGE), Kid Rock and John Bush (ARMORED SAINT) joined METALLICA on stage on December 7 for the second Fillmore concert.

After opening sets from THE SOUL REBELS brass band and ARMORED SAINT, as well as an appearance by ANTHRAX guitarist Scott Ian — who took to the stage with METALLICA guitarist Kirk Hammett to tell stories of hanging out with late METALLICA bassist Cliff BurtonMETALLICA rocked the capacity crowd with a 20-song set which featured selections from all periods of the band’s career, including a previously unreleased track from the “Death Magnetic” sessions called “Just A Bullet Away”.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. To Live Is To Die (premiere)
02. Enter Sandman
03. Holier Than Thou
04. Disposable Heroes
05. Bleeding Me
06. Wasting My Hate
07. My Apocalypse
08. Just A Bullet Away (previously unreleased song from “Death Magnetic” sessions; premiere)
09. Breadfan (BUDGIE cover) (with METALLICA fan Andrew Dowis)
10. The Memory Remains (with Marianne Faithful)
11. Killing Time (SWEET SAVAGE cover) (with Ray Haller)
12. Turn The Page (with Kid Rock)
13. The Four Horsemen (with John Bush)
14. Iced Honey (with Lou Reed)
15. The View (with Lou Reed)
16. White Light/White Heat (with Lou Reed)
17. Creeping Death (with Jason Newsted)
18. Battery (with Jason Newsted)
19. Mercyful Fate Medley (MERCYFUL FATE cover) (with Hank Shermann, Michael Denner, Timi Hansen and King Diamond)
20. Seek Destroy (with Jason Newsted, Scott Ian, Ray Haller, John Bush, Joey Vera, Gonzo Sandoval, and THE SOUL REBELS)

Frontman James Hetfield told The Pulse Of Radio that METALLICA hoped to make the shows special for the people attending. “It is a fan celebration — everyone who’s come along the METALLICA ride for 30 years — and we’re constantly wanting to give to the fans what they don’t normally get from some other band or some other connection,” he said. “So these four shows at the Fillmore are something like that.”

The other three shows took place on December 5, December 9, and December 10, with special guests and events, rare songs, varied set lists and more.

METALLICA plans to begin work on its next studio album early in 2012. The group recently released its collaborative album with Lou Reed, called “Lulu”, which flopped saleswise and earned the quartet the worst reviews of its career.

The band has booked several European shows next summer, including one at a venue in Denmark that used to be a prison, at which it will perform its self-titled 1991 effort, a.k.a. “the black album,” in its entirety.

METALLICA was formed when Ulrich, who had moved to Los Angeles from Denmark, placed an ad in a local paper called The Recycler looking for other musicians to play with. The ad was answered by guitarists James Hetfield and Hugh Tanner of the band LEATHER CHARM.

METALLICA officially formed in October 1981 and the band’s first recording was “Hit The Lights” for the compilation “Metal Massacre”.

Bay Area DJ Ron Quintana came up with the group’s name: he was debating between using “Metallica” and “Metal Mania” for the name of his radio show and Ulrich encouraged him to use “Metal Mania” so that he could use “Metallica” for his new band.

METALLICA‘s first full lineup — featuring Hetfield, Ulrich, guitarist Dave Mustaine and bassist Ron McGovney — played its first gig on March 14, 1982 at Radio City in Anaheim, California.


Photos below courtesy of






































(Thanks: Zombierichard)