MICHAEL SCHENKER To Guest On WJCU’s ‘Metal On Metal’

Legendary guitarist Michael Schenker will guest on WJCU‘s “Metal On Metal” radio program tonight (Friday, September 23) at 6:30 p.m. EST. Schenker will discuss and premiere music from his forthcoming album, “Temple Of Rock”, and give details on his U.S. tour with Uli Jon Roth and Leslie West, set to launch in October.

“Metal On Metal” can be heard live at 88.7 FM in the Cleveland, Ohio area or streamed worldwide via the Internet at www.wjcu.org.

Michael Schenker, alongside Ritchie Blackmore and Uli Jon Roth, is one of my all-time favorite guitar players,” says “Metal On Metal” host Bill Peters. “His work in UFO, SCORPIONS and MSG produced some of the greatest hard rock and heavy metal songs ever written and recorded. Michael‘s trademark melodic style of playing and his use of the wah pedal as an equalizer, which adds a lot of depth, texture, flavor and emotion to his sound, makes him truly a unique and special guitarist. His solos are often times as much, if not more, of a hook in a song as the vocal melodies. Think about it: There have been very few, if any, guitar players over the years who have sounded like Michael Schenker. His style of playing is incredibly challenging and not easy to copy. I’ve had him on my radio show before. Michael is always an entertaining interview and a very popular guest with my listeners. It’s an honor to have him on the show again. Be sure not to miss him live and uncensored!”

“Temple Of Rock” will be released in Europe on September 23 and in North America on October 11 on CD and LP through Schenker’s own Inakoustik label via MVD Entertainment Group. The album was released in Japan on September 7.

“The Temple of Rock is within me,” says Michael, “where I create since I was introduced to the amazing invention of the distorted guitar which is for me the most enjoyable and the best possible way to express myself. The rock guitar sound that I fell in love with, mostly expressed as lead breaks, is what I have nurtured and treasured all of my life. Combined with the infinite spring from within and the amazing musicians around me I keep expressing an ongoing development of my art (being).”

He adds, “With ‘Temple of Rock’ I am entering a new stage of my life, a new level of existence enjoying life more than ever, reaping the joy of all sorts of developments from the past. These days I just want to go out there, play and have fun. Also, it seems to me that collectively, with true expressive makers of rock music, we have been building the external ‘Temple Of Rock’ for many years and have now come to the point of putting on the roofing and celebrating the almost completion of the Temple. All generations of this period are meeting all over the world on one stage it seems celebrating an era of ‘hand make rock,’ which will never be the same again due to invention of new technology but of course New Temples and New Wonders will arise to enjoy expressions in new ways.”

Recording lineup:

* Michael Schenker – Guitar
* Michael Voss – Vocals
* Herman Rarebell – Drums
* Pete Way – Bass
* Wayne Findlay – Keyboards

Other featured musicians:

* Rudolf Schenker (SCORPIONS)
* William Shatner (Captain Kirk from “Star Trek”)
* Leslie West (MOUNTAIN)
* Michael Amott (ARCH ENEMY)
* Robin McAuley (SURVIVOR, ex-MSG)
* Don Airey (DEEP PURPLE)
* Paul Raymond (UFO)
* Simon Phillips (TOTO, THE WHO, JUDAS PRIEST)
* Chris Slade (MSG, ex-AC/DC)
* Chris Glenn (MSG, ex-ALEX HARVEY)
* Neil Murray (MSG, ex-WHITESNAKE, ex-GARY MOORE)
* Brian Tichy (WHITESNAKE)
* Elliott “Dean” Rubinson (Owner of Dean Guitars)

“Temple Of Rock” track listing:

01. Intro
02. How Long
03. The End Of An Era
04. Saturday Night
05. Fallen Angel
06. Hangin’ On
07. With You
08. Miss Claustrophobia
09. Scene Of Crime
10. Lovers Sinfony-Speed
11. Stormin’ In
12. Speed
13. Before The Devil Knows You’re Dead
14. How Long (guitar battle version)
15. Remember (bonus track for Japan)

“Miss Claustrophobia” is available for streaming in the YouTube clip below.