MNEMIC Guitarist Discusses Mnemesis Artwork (Video)

“Mnemesis”, the fifth studio album from Danish/French modern metallers MNEMIC, sold was released on June 8 in Europe, and on June 19 in North America via Nuclear Blast Records.

Because of many requests regarding background information on the cover artwork, MNEMIC guitarist Mircea Gabriel Eftemie has now uploaded a video clip to YouTube in which he gives us all the details. Check it out below.

Commented Mircea: “The artist’s name is Metastazis and he has worked with ULVER, BLUT AUS NORD and MORBID ANGEL, but also with more modern bands like THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER in the past. He’s mostly known for working mainly with black metal artists, usually designing more occult imagery. Since I am designer myself, I have been asked why I didn’t do the cover, like I did in the past, so I’ve decided to offer you a video statement in order to grant insight in how it all came together. In my opinion it’s the best artwork we’ve ever had. Usually we stress till the very last minute, but this time it was more of a collective process. Since both me and our bass player, Simone [Bertozzi], are graphic designers, we functioned more as art directors.”

“Mnemesis” sold around 800 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 38 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

Commented MNEMIC guitarist/songwriter Mircea Gabriel Eftemie: “Good news for the MNEMIC campfire machine: we climbed the charts by 25 positions since the last album! A big thumbs up and thanks to everyone at Nuclear Blast USA who have been promoting the album like there is no tomorrow. Most importantly, to everyone that bought a copy of the new album, we highly appreciate the support and are eternally thankful towards all of you out there! Actually, we are throwing out eternal thank-yous-thumbs-ups-cheerios and ‘skål for helvede og mojn i øjn’ to everyone involved! That means ‘Cheers Goddamnit and see you!’ in Danish. See you very soon on tour both in Europe and the U.S.!”

MNEMIC‘s fourth studio album, “Sons Of The System”, opened with around 600 units in Janaury 2010 to enter the Top New Artist Albums chart at No. 64.

“Mnemesis” was recorded at Antfarm studios in Aabyhøj, Denmark with longtime producer Tue Madsen (THE HAUNTED, HIMSA, SICK OF IT ALL). The cover artwork was created by Metastazis (MORBID ANGEL, THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER, PARADISE LOST, ULVER) and can be seen below.

“Mnemesis” track listing:

01. Transcend
02. Valves
03. Junkies On The Storm
04. I’ve Been You
05. Pattern Platform
06. Mnemesis
07. There’s No Tomorrow
08. Haven At The End Of The World
09. Ocean Of Void
10. Blue Desert In A Black Hole
11. Empty Planet (bonus track)

The song “I’ve Been You” can be streamed below.

MNEMIC last year parted ways with drummer Brian “Brylle” Rasmussen and guitarist Rune Stigart and replaced them with Brian Larsen and Victor-Ray Salomonsen, respectively.

MNEMIC 2012 is:

Guillaume Bideau – Vocals
Mircea Gabriel Eftemie – Guitar
Victor-Ray Salomonsen – Guitar
Simone Bertozzi – Bass
Brian Larsen – Drums





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *