MONSTERWORKS To Release ‘Man: Instincts’ In July

Chicago’s Mortal Music has announced the second in its DR (digital release) series, “Man: Instincts”, from expansionist U.K. metallers MONSTERWORKS on July 10. As was done with Mortal Music‘s first DR release, ION VEIN‘s “IV v1.0”, the MONSTERWORKS DR will also be available as a free download for a limited time.

“Man: Instincts” track listing:

01. The Creation Dream
02. All Suns Die
03. Freewill

In the course of its existence, MONSTERWORKS has been responsible for albums as farfetched as a metal space adventure concept album in two parts (2007’s “Spacial Operations” and 2009’s “Singularity”), but more recently has explored philosophical territory (2011’s “The God Album”) and an approach to recording that mostly relies on “old-school” technology, i.e. 24 track, 2-inch tape, like the classic albums the band grew up with. It was time to take a step back and rediscover the grit that made metal great, rather than the over-polished mechanical production that is often evident in modern releases.

Stylistically the band has always been difficult to pin down, at one moment death metal, in another stoner rock, then back to thrash; but the challenge to the listener is intentional and somehow in the end it works (in the context of heavy metal, which is the only essential influence). What is important is that the music does not switch between styles for the sake of it, nor to show off; it is just what feels right in the moment.