MORGOTH To Release First-Ever Live Album/DVD

Resurrected German death metallers MORGOTH are working on their first-ever live album/DVD for a summer release via Century Media. The effort is currently being mixed at Unisound Studio in Sweden with Dan Swanö (OPETH, KATATONIA, DISSECTION) and “he is doing an incredible job,” the band states.

MORGOTH‘s 2011 dates celebrated the 20th anniversary of the band’s classic “Cursed” album. The setlist consisted primarily of songs from “Cursed” but also included cuts from the classic EPs “Resurrection Absurd” (1989) and “The Eternal Fall” as well as a couple of selected songs off “Odium”.

“22 years ago I proudly wore a MORGOTH t-shirt on the group-photo for the first EDGE OF SANITY album,” Dan said. “Any metalhead knows that for the really important photos, you only wear what you truly worship!!! Sometime during the mix sessions of the live material I had to pinch my arm to make sure I wasn’t dreaming! It’s always a great vibe when something in your life comes ‘full circle,’ and this is one of those moments for me!”

MORGOTH will return to North American ground by appearing at Baltimore’s acclaimed Maryland Deathfest on May 27. Furthermore, the band will perform at Neurotic Deathfest (The Netherlands), Brutal Assault (Czech Republic) as well as the following events in Germany: Winternachtstraum (Arnsberg), Walpurgis Metal Dayz (Passau), Rock Harz (Ballenstedt) and Summer Breeze (Dinkelsbühl).

For a complete list of dates, visit the band’s Facebook page.

Video footage of MORGOTH‘s August 5, 2011 performance at the Wacken Open Air festival in Wacken, Germany can be viewed below.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Body Count
02. Exit To Temptation
03. Travel
04. Resistance
05. Suffer Life
06. Under the Surface
07. Burnt Identity
08. Sold Baptism
09. Pits of Utumno
10. Isolated
11. White Gallery


Marc Grewe – Vocals
Harry Busse – Guitar
Sebastian Swart – Guitar
Sotirios “Soti” Kelekides – Bass
Marc Reign – Drums