NoiseArt Records has announced the signing of long-running Australian thrashers MORTAL SIN. The band’s new album, “Psychology Of Death”, will be released in Europe on November 18 and will include the group’s classic debut LP, “Mayhemic Destruction”, as a bonus disc in the limited digipak version. The follow-up to 2007’s “An Absence of Faith” was mixed with producer/engineer Darren “jENK” Jenkins and marks the recording debut of guitarist Ryan Huthnance, who replaced Mick Sultana.

Commented the band: “MORTAL SIN are proud to announce we have signed to NoiseArt/Rock The Nation for the release of our new album, ‘Psychology Of Death’.

“What we wanted to do was a simple thrash album.

“Sometimes you can get so caught up in the complexities of everything that you forget about what thrash is all about. This time around we said we wanted to go back to our roots, we were going to write an album like ‘Mayhemic Destruction’ — simple old-school thrash!

“This is by far our fastest and heaviest album to date. We really wanted to grab people by the balls with this one!”

Added NoiseArt Records: “We are more than happy to welcome such a legendary band like MORTAL SIN to the NoiseArt family!

“Back in the glorious Eighties, MORTAL SIN had essentially formed the thrash metal genre as we know it among other groups like METALLICA, ANTHRAX, MEGADETH and SLAYER, leaving a milestole album for the fans with ‘Mayhemic Destruction’ in 1986 which has become a true classic! This album will be released as a bonus CD with the limited digipak edition of the new output, ‘Psychology Of Death’.

MORTAL SIN have lost nothing of their enormous energy whatsoever. The new record is an intense and amazing masterpiece of thrash: aggressive, fast, brilliant!

“We’re very much looking forward to the release of the album and to be working with MORTAL SIN in the future!”

“Psychology Of Death” track listing:

01. Psychology Of Death
02. Blood Of My Enemies
03. Paralysed
04. Burned Into Your Soul
05. Deny
06. Doomed To Annihilation
07. Kingdom Of Pain
08. Down In The Pit
09. Hatred

Bonus CD “Mayhemic Destruction”:

01. The Curse
02. Woman In Leather
03. Lebanon
04. Liar
05. Blood, Death, Hatred
06. Mortal Slaughter
07. Into The Fire
08. Mayhemic Destruction

A seven-minute YouTube clip containing audio samples of all the tracks that are set to appear on “Psychology Of Death” can be found below.

Singer Mat Maurer stated back in March 2010 about the creative process for the new CD, “We are notoriously slow writers, but many of you who may have heard the new song ‘Deny’ that we have been road-testing at our shows will agree that we could be onto something special here.

“Like many thrash bands, we feel strongly about our thrash roots and want to create an album of pure thrash. If we could combine KREATOR‘s ‘Hordes Of Chaos’, TESTAMENT‘s ‘The Formation Of Damnation’ and OVERKILL‘s newie ‘Ironbound’ into a huge melting pot, that would be the kind of album we wanna make!!”

MORTAL SIN in 2009 released a live album, “Into the Inferno (Live in Oslo)”, via Riot! Entertainment. The CD, which contains the group’s March 2008 performance in Oslo, Norway, was described by the band as “possibly the best live show MORTAL SIN have ever had recorded.”

Once hailed as the next METALLICA, MORTAL SIN have become legends in their home country Australia, having been inducted into the Kerrang! Heavy Metal Hall of Fame in 2005 and being the only Australian band to have played with the big five of thrash — METALLICA, SLAYER, ANTHRAX, MEGADETH and TESTAMENT — on tours in Australia and overseas.


Mat Maurer – Vocals
Andy Eftichiou – Bass
Luke Cook – Drums
Nathan Shea – Guitar
Ryan Huthnance – Guitar



“Psychology Of Death” audio samples: