MUNICIPAL WASTE: ‘The Fatal Feast’ Album Art Revealed

Virginia crossover thrash metal band MUNICIPAL WASTE will release its fifth studio album, “The Fatal Feast”, on April 10 in North America and April 13 in Europe via Nuclear Blast Records. The cover artwork for the cD was created by Justin Osbourn of Slasher Design and can be seen below.

Osbourn recently answered a few questions about the artistic process for his masterpiece.

Q: Did you hear any new music before you created this bad boy?

Osbourn: Nope, I wasn’t given any of the new song demos beforehand. Ryan [Waste, guitarist] kinda gave me an overall theme and certain elements that they wanted to see in the artwork. Being a fan of the band, I just took that and added what I thought would enhance it further.

Q: Why does the guy being eaten resemble Captain James Tiberius Kirk?

Osbourn: It’s kinda weird that you say that… I happen to be quite the fan of the original “Star Trek” series. It would have totally made sense for that to be Captain Kirk being devoured, but unfortunately, that was never my intent. Perhaps it was subconsciously, though? How ’bout we just tell everyone it is.

Q: Anything hidden in the artwork (a la Derek Riggs/IRON MAIDEN covers) that fans should keep an eye out for?

Osbourn: Sorta. The number of cheap beer cans/bottles laying around on the cover are just about the right number I would drink on a night I would call a Pretty Damn Good Night. Oh, and there’s an empty half pint of Viaka Vodka in there as well; it’s just that it’s laying behind The Waste-oids devouring Captain Kirk. Ha ha.

“The Fatal Feast” features guest appearances by John Connelly (guitarist and vocalist for NUCLEAR ASSAULT), Steve Moore (who plays bass and synthesizers for ZOMBI), and vocalist Tim Barry (ex-AVAIL).

“Massive Aggressive”, the last album from MUNICIPAL WASTE, landed at No. 10 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“Massive Aggressive” was released on August 25, 2009 via Earache Records.