MYSTICUM: Reissue Of Debut Album To Include Bonus Songs And DVD

One of the pioneering industrial black metal forces to emerge in the early ’90s, MYSTICUM and Peaceville Records have announced the re-release of the band’s debut album, “In The Streams Of Inferno”, on February 26. The reissued version of the LP will feature extensive remastering, courtesy of Tom Kvålsvoll at Strype Studios in Oslo, Norway, two bonus songs and DVD. The packaging also contains new artwork made in close association with the band to fully reflect the intended vision, plus liner notes and additional lyrics. The release will be available in both CD and vinyl format. The bonus DVD will contain two live shows from 1996. “Grotten” in Asker, Norway has until now been totally unknown to the masses except for the few that were present at the show. The other show is the more well-known Bradford, U.K. set from MYSTICUM‘s European tour with MARDUK and GEHENNA. Overall, both gigs give a great glimpse into the pure atmosphere and intensity of this cult act — a must for all fans.

A perfect concoction of cold, primitive black metal and forward-thinking ideas from an act unafraid to push boundaries, the hell of “In The Streams Of Inferno” has had a lasting and profound impact on many since 1996.

The band was originally signed to Euronymous‘ (MAYHEM) Deathlike Silence Productions label, such was his belief in the band (MYSTICUM even featured Hellhammer from MAYHEM in their lineup for a brief period). However, this venture proved to be cut short following Euronymous‘ death, forcing MYSTICUM to look elsewhere for the release of their eventual debut album, “In The Streams Of Inferno” finally surfacing in 1996.

Unifying the core trio of Herr General Cerastes, Svartravn and Mean Malmberg in late 2011, MYSTICUM has commenced work on its follow-up album, “Planet Satan”, to be released 2013 on Peaceville Records.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *