NOCTEM: set to release Oblivion through Metal Blade Records in North America!

NOCTEM - Oblivion

NOCTEM – Oblivion

Metal Blade Records is set to release Spanish black metal outfit NOCTEM’s current release Oblivionin North America. Oblivion, which KERRANG Magazine (KKKK) dubbed as “authentic hymns for the lovers of the most extreme music” has been available only as an import until now. Oblivion is the second part to NOCTEM’s previous release Divinity (check out the studio video HERE). A teaser video for Oblivion created by the band can be seen HERE and fans can preorder the album HERE.

The band comments on Oblivion, which will be available in North America October 25:

“The second part from the trilogy that started with Divinity is going to be the hardest, fastest and darkest opus from the band until the date. The album has been produced by Daniel Cardoso (Anathema, Ava Inferi, Anneke Vangiersbergen…) and recorded in the Ultrasound Studios 2 from Moita, Setubal (Portugal).

Lyrically, NOCTEM talks about Mesoamerican cultures, with special attention to the Maya. On this album the band expresses its opposition to the Spanish barbarity, strongly criticizing the colonization and the imposition of Christianity in the lands of the yukata. Again NOCTEM not hesitate to speak about the cult of blood, the low value of human life and the decrepitude of the mortal soul.”

Cover artwork for Oblivion was created by Marcelo Vasco, a Brazilian designer who worked withNOCTEM on Divinity’s cover and is also known for his work with bands like Dimmu Borgir, Dark Funeral, Satyricon, Belphegor, Gorgoroth just to name a few.

Oblivion tracklisting: 

1. Popol Vuh

2. The arrival of the false gods

3. Universal disorder

4. Abnegation and brutality

5. Invictus

6. Sons of Hun-vucub

7. Seeking the ruin of souls

8. Unredemption

9. Q’uma’rka’aa’j

10. A borning winged snake

11. Oblivion