NOTHNEGAL To Release New EP In July

Maldivian melodic heavy metal band NOTHNEGAL will release its new self-titled EP on July 9 via Season Of Mist. The effort was recorded at Vakaruge Studios in the Maldives with producer Shamheed, with additional production by Matt Hyde (SLIPKNOT, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE, AS I LAY DYING) and Paul Reeve (MUSE).

“Nothnegal” will consist of four tracks and will be released exclusively through digital retailers in North America and other parts of the world. The band’s first release with new vocalist Affan and new guitarist Chippe (SERENITY DIES), who is currently filling in for longtime NOTHNEGAL guitarist Fufu, the EP’s sound is described by NOTHNEGAL as “very raw and organic with minimal electronic effects.” Elements such as the “boduberu” (log drums used in the Maldives) and other ambient sounds from the Maldivian environment were gathered for the new album.

Overall, the new music aims to explore the supernatural realm and people who have experienced paranormal encounters and/or have been possessed, offering a glimpse into these beings and false conspiracies. The EP shines a light on the folklore, beliefs and legends of the Maldivian islands and begs the listener to question their own spiritual state and vulnerability. The themes of the EP also include current social issues such as child abuse, corruption and family related problems.

NOTHNEGAL will tour India this June with French progressive metallers HACRIDE.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *