ODDLAND: ‘In The Eyes Of The Mourning’ Video Released

“In The Eyes Of The Mourning”, the new video from Finland’s ODDLAND, can be seen below. The clip was shot in May by visual artist Santeri Ojanen, who is also the brother of ODDLAND singer/guitarist Sakari. The song comes off the band’s debut album, “The Treachery Of Senses”, which was released in Europe on April 30 via Century Media Records. The effort was made available in North America on May 8 as a digital download only.

Commented the band: “We feel that the video turned out to be an extension of our music: it might be a lot to take in at first view, but I think you can definitely find more layers and little cool details unfold with more views. The mood of the video is melancholy as well as slightly weird and twisted to create that ODDLAND feel and we think it works perfectly with the song. The video gives a nice representation of what the song is about: grievance, losing someone meaningful and losing yourself, and the lengths our psyche and will go to in order to keep everything in balance.

“Shooting the video throughout the night was not a picnic, let me say, but the atmosphere was very cool. The dark forest was lighted with spotlights, and our protagonist — the clown — was performing various peculiar acts. It was a cool experience; you can imagine the atmosphere was quite unique and surreal. Navigating all the equipment deep into the dark forest and out was also an ‘adventure’ in itself.”

Added Santeri Ojanen: “The shoot was a wild one as we did almost everything in 12 hours. We started at 8 p.m. and the last people left with eyes wide open at 8 a.m. This was the first video for ODDLAND, so it was totally clear to me how I wanted to introduce the band. Dark forest works as a metaphor for where they come from. Our northern country is rooted in darkness and the profound energy of nature. I also wanted to capture the emotion of the song, as well as open a window to a subconscious side of the human mind.”

Century Media Records, the Finnish Metal Expo, Inferno magazine, Terrorizer magazine and Imperiumi.net joined forces in 2010 to find the “Suomi Metal Star 2011.” Around 240 Finnish bands signed up to take part in the contest and 12 were selected to be voted on by the public prior to the end of that year. The four finalist bands played at the Finnish Metal Expo in Helsinki in February 2011 and it was ODDLAND from Turku who won over the majority of the jury members with its brand of sophisticated prog metal/rock — described as a cross between DEVIN TOWNSEND, OPETH and KATATONIA.

ODDLAND teamed up with Elton Fernandes to perfect their artistic vision for “The Treachery Of Senses” album. Check out the cover artwork below.

“The Treachery Of Senses” track listing:

01. Above And Beyond
02. Flooding Light
03. In The Eyes Of The Mourning
04. Aisle Of Array
05. Past The Gates
06. Still The Spirit Stays
07. In Endless Endeavour
08. Sewers
09. Lines Of Silver Blood
10. Ire

The song “Flooding Light” can now be streamed below.

ODDLAND was formed in 2003 when four 18-year-old “wimps” decided to play heavy music to as a mental anti-acne medication. The mental acne never disappeared, but neither did the passion to play overdriven music with captivating melodies and intense energy. So far they made two recordings: the EP “Connecions Critical Behind” (2007) and the demo/promo “Away From The Watching Eye” (2009).

For more information, visit the ODDLAND Facebook page.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *