OMEN To Release ‘Hammer Damage’ In June

Veteran metallers OMEN will release their new album, “Hammer Damage”, on June 29 via Pure Steel Records. The band’s eleventh CD was originally due at the end of April but had to be delayed after OMEN mastermind Kenny Powell‘s studio was damaged by a tornado.

Commented Kenny: “First off, I hate to be an excuse maker, but I have had a little problem with the studio. I have been putting off a new roof on my house until the record was finished. After several days of heavy rain, the studio was flooded and the roof collapsed in. It took me several days to patch things up and clean up all of the equipment. Thankfully nothing was damaged.”

“Hammer Damage” track listing:

01. Hammer Damage
02. Knights Of The Cross
03. Era Of Crisis
04. Epitaph For A Warrior
05. The Canyon
06. Demons
07. Caligula
08. Hellas
09. A.F.U.

OMEN was formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1983, by lead guitarist Kenny Powell; previously with the rock group SAVAGE GRACE and signed on with Metal Blade Records in 1984, and released their debut album “Battle Cry”. In 1985 the second album, “Warning Of Danger”, followed, building up OMEN‘s reputation as one of the forefathers of power metal acts, such as METALLICA, ANTHRAX, MEGADETH, and SLAYER. In 1986, OMEN‘s successes lead to the release of the blockbuster album “The Curse” on Capitol Records. The hit single “Thorn In Your Flesh” from their release “Escape To Nowhere” topped the metal charts in 1985.

OMEN continued releasing an incredible collection of heavy metal masterpieces over the years, as well as building a loyal fan base via successful worldwide tours.

OMEN in 2008 released a live album, “Into the Arena: 20 Years Live”, which contained previously unreleased recordings of the band’s original lineup.

OMEN appeared at last year’s Keep It True XII festival on April 24-25, 2009 at the Tauberfrankenhalle in Lauda-Königshofen, Germany.

OMEN 2012 is:

Kenny Powell – Guitar
Andy Haas – Bass
Matt Story – Vocals
Steve Wittig – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *