Original JUDAS PRIEST Singer To Release New ATKINS MAY PROJECT Album; Audio Samples Available

“Valley Of Shadows”, the second album from the ATKINS MAY PROJECT — the collaboration between original JUDAS PRIEST singer Al Atkins and Christian guitarist Paul May — will be released on November 5.

A five-minute YouTube clip containing audio samples of the tracks that will appear on the CD can be found below.

ATKINS MAY PROJECT‘s first CD, “Serpent’s Kiss”, was released last November via Gonzo Multimedia. The 10-track album was the product of two of the Midlands finest architects of rock and metal coming together to create something that is unique and totally exhilarating.

Atkins is the co-writer of several PRIEST songs which are included on the band’s first two albums, “Rocka Rolla” and “Sad Wings of Destiny”, both of which eventually went gold. Atkins co-penned the heavy metal classic “Victim of Changes”, which was a combination of Rob Halford‘s song “Red Light Lady” and Atkins‘ own “Whiskey Woman”. He also co-wrote “Winter”, “Never Satisfied”, “Dreamer Deceiver” and “Caviar and Meths”.

In 1989 Atkins released his debut solo album, “Judgement Day”, to great acclaim. But it was “Heavy Thoughts” and “Victim of Changes” (the latter being his collaborative album with ex-JUDAS PRIEST drummer Dave Holland) that brought him strong sales and critical acclaim around the world.

JUDAS PRIEST bassist Ian Hill penned the foreword to Al Atkins‘s autobiography, titled “Dawn of the Metal Gods: My Life in Judas Priest and Heavy Metal”. The book, which was written with Neil Daniels — a freelance rock writer and heavy metal fan who befriended Atkins during the writing of Neil‘s book “The Story Of Judas Priest: Defenders Of The Faith” (Omnibus Press) — was released in 2009 via Iron Pages.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *