PAIN OF SALVATION Guitarist Quits To Focus On Family Life

Swedish progressive rockers PAIN OF SALVATIONhave issued the following update:

“After 13 years in the band, Johan Hallgren [guitar] has decided to leave PAIN OF SALVATION to focus on his daughter and wife. He will not leave music altogether, but plans to work with music in a way that allows him to stay at home with his family in Sweden. That means that the band’s upcoming November/December tour together with OPETH will be his last. He will, of course, be sadly missed, both musically and personally, and very difficult to replace. So, if you know someone who sings and plays the crap out of basically anyone, send him or her our way — we might just have a thing or two to discuss.”

Commented Johan: “I’m leaving the band with both joy and sadness. I need to stay close to my daughter and my child-to-come; they will be my greatest concern along with my wife. I will miss everyone I’ve met during the years, and the band will continue to have a warm place in my heart. So finally, treat yourself and all that surrounds you with respect, and stay with PAIN OF SALVATION — the greatest band on the planet! Sorry if I disappoint you; I miss you already!”

PAIN OF SALVATION‘s new album, “Road Salt II” was released on September 26 in Europe and was made available on October 11 in North America via InsideOut Music.

“Road Salt Two” track listing:

01. Road Salt Theme
02. Softly She Cries
03. Conditioned
04. Healing Now
05. To The Shoreline
06. Eleven
07. 1979
08. The Deeper Cut
09. Mortar Grind
10. Through The Distance
11. The Physics Of Gridlock
12. End Credits

In addition to the standard album version (on CD and in digital format), “Road Salt Two” is available as a limited-edition digipack (with two additional songs) and as a gatefold LP on 180-gram black vinyl.