PANTERA’s Final Three Albums To Be Reissued On Vinyl

Earlier this year, Rhino unveiled the 20th-anniversary edition of PANTERA‘s “Vulgar Display Of Power”, which featured the debut of the incendiary lost track “Piss”. Following up on “Vulgar”‘s success, Rhino continues to honor PANTERA‘s legacy as one of metal’s most influential bands by offering the Texas quartet’s final three releases on 180-gram vinyl.

Presented in gatefold jackets, “The Great Southern Trendkill”, “Official Live: 101 Proof” and “Reinventing The Steel” will be available July 24 from retail outlets, including and The first two albums are double LPs and available for a suggested price of $24.98 each, while “Steel” will be issued as a single LP for $17.98.

This vinyl release of “Trendkill” is different from an earlier version that was issued as a single LP without the track “Suicide Note Pt. I”. To include the song for this new release and ensure ultimate sound quality, Rhino expanded the album to a double LP.

Recorded over four years (1996-2000), these two studio albums and live collection represent the final three releases from PANTERA — singer Philip Anselmo, guitarist “Dimebag” Darrell Abbott, bassist Rex Brown and drummer Vinnie Paul Abbott.

The follow-up to the classic “Far Beyond Driven”, “The Great Southern Trendkill” is the group’s fourth platinum album, peaking at No. 4 on the Billboard chart. It yielded three singles, “Drag The Waters”, “Suicide Note Pt. I” and “Floods”, the latter an epic track that features one of Dimebag‘s defining guitar solos.

The following year, the band returned with its first live album, the gold-certified “Official Live: 101 Proof”. Recorded during the tour for “Trendkill”, the collection captures the group at the peak of its live prowess as it grinds and grooves through many of its greatest songs, like “Walk”, “Cowboys From Hell” and “Cemetery Gates”, as well as “Dom/Hollow”, which combines the tracks “Domination” and “Hollow”. Along with the live recordings, the release also includes two studio recordings, “Where You Come From” and “I Can’t Hide”.

The group’s final studio album, “Reinventing The Steel” was certified gold, peaking at No. 4 on the Billboard charts. Along with the singles “Revolution Is My Name” and “I’ll Cast A Shadow”, the album’s other standout tracks include “Death Rattle” and “Goddamn Electric”, which features a guest guitar solo by SLAYER‘s Kerry King.

“The Great Southern Trendkill” track listing:

Side One

01. The Great Southern Trendkill
02. War Nerve
03. Drag The Waters

Side Two

01. 10’s
02. 13 Steps To Nowhere
03. Suicide Note Pt. I
04. Suicide Note Pt. II

Side Three

01. Living Through Me (Hell’s Wrath)
02. Floods

Side Four

01. The Underground In America
02. (Reprise) Sandblasted Skin

“Official Live: 101 Proof” track listing:

Side One

01. New Level
02. Walk
03. Becoming
04. 5 Minutes Alone

Side Two

01. Sandblasted Skin
02. Suicide Note Pt. 2
03. War Nerve
04. This Love

Side Three

01. Dom/Hollow
02. I’m Broken
03. Cowboys From Hell
04. Cemetery Gates

Side Four

01. Strength Beyond Strength
02. Hostile
03. Where You Come From *
04. I Can’t Hide *

“Reinventing The Steel” track listing:

Side One

01. Hellbound
02. Goddamn Electric
03. Yesterday Don’t Mean Shit
04. You’ve Got To Belong To It
05. Revolution Is My Name

Side Two

01. Death Rattle
02. We’ll Grind That Axe For A Long Time
03. Uplift
04. It Makes Them Disappear
05. I’ll Cast A Shadow

* Studio Recording May ’97




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *