PAUL GILBERT: ‘Vibrato’ Album Details Revealed

Music Theories Recordings, a division of Mascot Label Group, has announced the October 15 U.K. release of Paul Gilbert‘s 12th solo album, “Vibrato”. The CD includes four new guitar and vocal compositions, four instrumentals, plus three live cover songs from Gilbert‘s 2010 “Fuzz” tour, including YES‘s “Roundabout”, MUDDY WATERS“I Want To Be Loved” and AC/DC‘s “Go Down”.

“Vibrato” will follow Gilbert‘s appearance at Marshall Amplification‘s “50 Years Of Loud” concert at London Wembley Arena on Saturday, September 22. The concert celebrates 50 years of Marshall Amplification‘s musical innovation and the life of the late Jim Marshall.

As a member of both the ’80s premiere guitar band RACER X and MR. BIG, Gilbert has gained the reputation as one of the most melodic and powerful guitarists in rock.

Determined not to be pigeon-holed as a guitar shredder, Gilbert‘s solo work has allowed him to exercise his deep appreciation for the more song-oriented side of rock music.

The “Fuzz” live tracks includes guitarist and singer Tony Spinner, who adds some amazing vocals, and some killer guitar battles and harmonies. “Roundabout” is especially impressive in that all the keyboard parts are played on guitar. Jeff Bowders (drums) and Craig Martini (bass) also perform on the live tracks.

One of the instrumental tracks on the album is Dave Brubeck‘s “Blue Rondo A La Turk”. Its groundbreaking odd-time instrumental classic from the ’60s is supercharged by Gilbert‘s electric guitar playing the saxophone parts, backed by his ridiculously tight band.

“Vibrato” track listing:

01. Enemies (In Jail)
02. Rain And Thunder And Lightning
03. Vibrato
04. Put It On The Char
05. Bivalve Blues
06. Blue Rondo A La Turk
07. Atmosphere On The Moon
08. The Pronghorn
09. Roundabout
10. I Want To Be Loved
11. Go Down


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *