PELICAN Announces New EP

Thunderous post-instrumental outfit PELICAN has announced the long-awaited follow-up to their sprawling 2009 full-length “What We All Come To Need”, a new four-song EP, “Ataraxia/Taraxis”, to be released via Southern Lord on April 10. With members now residing in separate cities, the EP represents a new chapter in the band’s evolution with a re-energized focus on composition and the utilization of the recording studio as a creative tool in the songwriting process, yielding one of the most diverse efforts in the band’s prolific discography.

The four new songs highlight the manifold sonic strengths of the band by delving into moments of triumphant melodic rock, smokey doom, ambient soundscape, acoustic desert-folk, and minimalist electronics. In contrast to the EP’s origin as the product of four different recording studios, including stints with engineers Sanford Parker (TWILIGHT, CIRCLE OF ANIMALS, NACHTMYSTIUM) and Aaron Harris (ISIS), the carefully crafted track listing boasts a cohesive narrative flow, lending the release an epic feel worthy of a full album.

“Ataraxia/Taraxis” track listing:

01. Ataraxia
02. Lathe Biosas
03. Parasite Colony
04. Taraxis