PERIPHERY Begins Recording New Album

Maryland-based experimental, progressive metal band PERIPHERY has entered the studio to begin recording its sophomore full-length album for an early 2012 relesae via Sumerian Records.

Commented guitarist Jake Bowen: “We’ve got a ton of new songs ready that we can’t wait for you guys to hear.

“We’ll spend the winter in the studio with Taylor Larson (our good friend Nolly Getgood is co-producing with Misha Mansoor).

“We’ve decided to go a new direction with our music and we’re calling this new genre DjentSlam!

“JUST KIDDING! Get stoked!”

Bassist Tom Murphy recently announced his departure from PERIPHERY “to pursue something new.” Adam “Nolly” Getgood of RED SEAS FIRE will fill in on bass and Mark Holcomb will take up his position as the full-time guitarist on the band’s upcoming tour.

Holcomb previously had a project with Misha Mansoor called HAUNTED SHORES and was the fill-in guitarist on the recently completed “Frak The Gods” tour.

PERIPHERY will be direct support for DREAM THEATER throughout Europe from January 23 through February 26.

PERIPHERY released a new EP, “Icarus Lives”, on April 19 via Sumerian Records. This CD features a brand new unreleased track, a series of remixes and video clips.

PERIPHERY‘s self-titled debut album sold around 4,500 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 128 on the Billboard 200 chart. The CD landed at No. 2 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.