PHILIP ANSELMO Says Making Full-Length Albums Nowadays Is ‘Draining’ And ‘Taxing’

Earlier this month, Dave “Higgo” Higgins of “Distortion”, which airs on Australia’s long-running rock station Triple M, conducted an interview with former PANTERA and current DOWN frontman Philip Anselmo. You can now listen to the chat in the YouTube clip below.

“Down IV Part I – The Purple EP”, DOWN‘s first in a series of four EPs to be released over the next few years (with a year between EPs), each touching on a different aspect of the band’s sound, can be streamed in its entirety below (courtesy of

The first six-song EP, which heralds the sound of DOWN going back to its roots, with influences from BLACK SABBATH, SAINT VITUS and WITCHFINDER GENERAL, will be released on September 18. It will be followed by the second collection of songs early next year, around the time of a planned U.S. tour. EPs three and four are scheduled for later in 2013.

“People talk about four EPs,” Anselmo told “Distortion”. “We brought it up, of course, and then the press has taken that and run with it. I think it is the big plan, I think we can do it, and to me, to do EPs is so much easier. To apply ourselves, as busy as we are, to a 10-song, 12-song full-length record these days, it’s draining, it’s taxing. And for me, when you do something like that, there’s more probability of a song being considered a filler-type song. With an EP, you can concentrate on four songs, or six songs, or whatever it is. You can concentrate on those particular tracks and not this big, drawn-out thing. It’s just easier. And in theory, hopefully, quicker to get product out, because once again, we are liars. We’ve told the press, we’ve told people friends and crowds of people, ‘Yeah, we’ve got something new in the works, and it’ll be out next year.’ And five years later, we’re talking about it still. So I’m not promising jack to anybody, but I’ll say that, hey, the four EPs are in the plans, it’s in the works, and I think, once again, in theory, it’s the way to go, brother.”

“Down IV Part I – The Purple EP” track listing:

01. Levitation
02. Witchtripper
03. Open Coffins
04. The Curse Is A Lie
05. This Work Is Timeless
06. Misfortune Teller

DOWN filmed a video for the song “Witchtripper” at the end of August.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *