PLÖW To Release ‘No Highness Below The Crown’ In August

Danish sludge metal band PLÖW has inked a deal with Mighty Music. The group’s debut album, “No Highness Below The Crown”, will be released on August 12 on vinyl, CD and download. A European tour will follow the album’s release.

Formed in 2009, PLÖW plays groovy heavy-stoner-sludge. The sub-genres are many, but the only thing that matters is how these guys put everything on the table. All of their sorrows and victories being emitted through their epic guitar riffs, the dirty bass, the beaten up drums and the angry vocals.

PLÖW are four young men, who live and breathe the heavy music. It lies deep in their bones, which you can tell from the honest passion both live and on the recordings.

PLÖW is pronounced “plow”, with a silent umlaut, following the tradition from other bands in the heavy rock genre. An old rusty plow has actually found its place in the rehearsal room, which has given inspiration for both music and lyrics. From this rusty tool The Plöwman was born. He is an invincible character who appears in many of the lyrics and is also a big part of the band’s visual expression. The musical and lyrical universe are ranging from heavy doom sludge-metal compositions to groovy stoner rock with lyrics about everything from doomsday scenarios and human sorrow to freedom and heroism.

“No Highness Below The Crown” is a concept album. Both music and lyrics take inspiration from the duality in life’s heavy issues. Good and evil, life and death, love and hate, sorrow and triumph. One thing confirms the other. This duality is also used in the way the album was recorded. The first half of the record is recorded in the summer 2012, which is reflected in the heroism and more positive energy, but yet still angry stoner sludge metal. The other half was recorded in the autumn, where the mood was more somber and the sound more doom and dirty. This record is PLÖW‘s heart and soul, as they have sacrificed blood, sweat and tears on this “first-born” full-length.

“No Highness Below The Crown” track listing:

01. Storm
02. Dig Deep
03. Margareth
04. Bloody Temper
05. Captain Fungus
06. Lord Von Gus
07. Betula
08. Pendula




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *