PRIMITIVE GRAVEN IMAGE: New Album Details Revealed

U.K. black metallers PRIMITIVE GRAVEN IMAGE have completed work on their third album. Entitled “Psychededlic Episodes – Observations on Death and Deathlessness”, the follow-up to 2010’s “Celebrating Impending Chaos” was once again produced by Russ Russell (NAPALM DEATH, DIMMU BORGIR, EVILE), with artwork from Darkwave Art, and is another loosely themed concept album — this time based around psychedelic experience of the physical, spiritual and emotional kind.

Commented the band: “We took war as a big theme for ‘Celebrating Impending Chaos’ (2010), but there was also a more cosmic theme running throughout the album as well, on tracks like ‘Kings Of Infinite Space’, for example — and that’s what we’ve decided to run with this time round. We’ve decided to look into the mirror instead and into our own psyches. After all, the outside world is surely only a reflection of what is inside?

“This album is about getting closer to the source of all this stuff, which is where the real horrors lie. It’s an interesting and fresh concept to play with but still lends itself very well to twisting into a black metal framework. The concept has lead to our most structured and focused lyrics to date and the album has become a weird journey through man’s struggle with his gods, his mortality and his brief but often chaotic life here on this mysterious rock. Musically, we have stuck to the black metal feel that we know and love and in some cases this shines through even more than on our last album.

“We’ve also brought in a very healthy dose of death and thrash metal-influenced sections and the psychedelic and progressive elements we started to play with on ‘Chaos’ have made a big return. We have included some truly experimental moments with some elongated prog-out sections and wonderful analog keyboard sounds.”

The first offering from the album is new digital-only single, “Slave To The Mannequin” — which is accompanied by a music video and is to be available as a free download from the band’s web site at shortly.

“Psychededlic Episodes – Observations on Death and Deathlessness” track listing:

01. Eye Of Existence
02. Ten Thousand Armageddons
03. Mock The Lifeline
04. Slave To The Mannequin
05. Attack The Attacker
06. Breathe
07. The Maniacal Laughter Of A Dying Man
08. The Killer, The Philosopher And The Holy Man
09. Of Death And Deathlessness




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *