PROTOTYPE: ‘Catalyst’ Artwork Unveiled; Release Date Announced

Los Angeles-based progressive/aggressive metal band PROTOTYPE will release its third full-length album, “Catalyst”, on September 11 via Nightmare Records. The first new material from the band in over six years is a story-based science fiction concept effort containing over 60 minutes of new music. Produced entirely by the band and mixed by Neil Kernon (NEVERMORE, CANNIBAL CORPSE, QUEENSRŸCHE, DEICIDE), the album also sees the return of the classic “Trinity” lineup of Kragen Lum (guitar), Vince Levalois (vocals, guitar), Kirk Scherer (bass) and Pat Magrath (drums). With “Catalyst”, PROTOTYPEcontinues to expand its sound by adding new elements to its unique blend of thrash metal and progressive music, creating its heaviest, and clearest album to date.

The cover artwork for “Catalyst” was created by Travis Smith of Seempieces, who has previously worked with OPETH, DEVIN TOWNSEND, NEVERMORE, ICED EARTH, DEATH and AMORPHIS, among many others.

The partnership of Lum and Levalois has flourished for the better part of two decades, during which time they have developed local, national and international recognition, achieving regular to heavy rotation on radio in addition to praise filled reviews and interviews. PROTOTYPE‘s music represents the consummate intersection of aggressive and progressive song construction, offering a high-energy performance that showcases exceptional musicianship in compositions that remain astonishingly melodic.

“Catalyst” track listing:

01. Inceptum
02. Catalyst
03. Cynic Dreams
04. The Chosen Ones
05. Illuminatum
06. My Own Deception
07. Into Oblivion
08. Impetus
09. Gravity Well
10. The Ageless Heart Of Memory
11. Exiled
12. Communion

PROTOTYPE‘s last album, “Continuum”, was released in 2006 and featured the song “The Way It Ends”, which appeared in the best-selling music video game of all time “Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock”.


Vince Levalois – Vocals/Guitar
Kragen Lum – Guitar
Kirk Scherer – Bass
Pat Magrath – Drums



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *