PSYCROPTIC Drummer Talks ‘The Inherited Repression’ In New Audio Interview

On January 17, Aniruddh “Andrew” Bansal of Metal Assault conducted an interview with drummer Dave Haley of Australian technical death metallers PSYCROPTIC. You can now listen to the chat using the Mixcloud player below.

PSYCROPTIC‘s fifth studio album, “The Inherited Repression”, was released on February 7 in North America and February 10 in Europe via Nuclear Blast Records.

Commented Joe Haley: “‘The Inherited Repression’ is far and away my favorite PSYCROPTIC record thus far — all of us in the band think this.

“It’s the age-old cliché from bands when they talk about their new album as being the best of their career, blah, blah, but I have to say it because it’s true. We wouldn’t think there is a point of going on if we couldn’t outdo each record prior. We are certainly not playing music for anything else than the love of creating it and performing it.

‘The Inherited Repression’ is quite different from anything we have done in terms of songwriting and structure, and we spent a lot longer writing and demoing the songs before we recorded it, which you can tell. It’s a very dynamic album — the fast elements faster, the slow elements slower, and a lot of light and dark binding it together. It’s a very catchy album as well — you can tap your foot, bang your head or anything else you want. Basically, it has a lot of groove on it from start to finish.”

“The Inherited Repression” was produced, engineered and mixed by Haley, while Alan Douches will handle mastering duties.

“We had the luxury of recording in my home studio without deadlines, so we spent a long time on getting it how we wanted,” said Haley. “We can’t wait for people to hear it, and get out and play the songs live!”

“The Inherited Repression” track listing:

01. Carriers Of The Plague
02. Forward To Submission
03. Euphorinasia
04. The Throne Of Kings
05. Unmasking The Traitors
06. Become The Cult
07. From Scribe To Ashes
08. Deprivation
09. The Sleepers Have Awoken


Jason Peppiatt – Vocals
Cameron Grant – Bass
Joe Haley – Guitar
Dave Haley – Drums


“Carriers Of The Plague” audio stream:


PSYCROPTIC – Carriers of the Plague by NuclearBlastRecords


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *