QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE: New Album Details Revealed; First Single Available For Streaming

QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE will release its sixth studio album, “…Like Clockwork”, on June 4 via Matador Records, which is part of Beggars Group, the largest independent label group in the world. Described by QUEENS principal Joshua Homme as “an audio documentary of a manic year,” “…Like Clockwork” is the band’s first full-length collection of all-new material since 2007’s “Era Vulgaris”, as well as the group’s debut release on new label partner Matador. The group was previously signed to Interscope.

“…Like Clockwork” was produced by Joshua Homme and QOTSA and recorded by Mark Rankin at Pink Duck Studios in Burbank, California. The CD includes drums by Dave Grohl (FOO FIGHTERS, NIRVANA), Joey Castillo and Jon Theodore, and guest appearances by Sir Elton John, Trent Reznor (NINE INCH NAILS), Mark Lanegan (SCREAMING TREES), ex-QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE bassist/vocalist Nick Oliveri, Jake Shears (THE SCISSOR SISTERS), James Lavelle and Alex Turner.

“…Like Clockwork” track listing:

01. Keep Your Eyes Peeled
02. I Sat By The Ocean
03. The Vampyre Of Time And Memory
04. If I Had A Tail
05. My God Is The Sun
06. Kalopsia
07. Fairweather Friends
08. Smooth Sailing
09. I Appear Missing
10. …Like Clockwork

“My God Is The Sun” is available for streaming in the YouTube clip below.

An iTunes pre-order for “…Like Clockwork” will include an instant download of “My God Is The Sun” and is set to launch at midnight tonight.

QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE‘s current touring lineup includes THE MARS VOLTA drummer Jon Theodore.

Grohl played drums on the QUEENS‘ 2002 album, “Songs For The Deaf”, and did go on a short club tour with the group before returning to active duty with the FOOS — who took QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE out as support.

Grohl stepped in for the recording sessions after the group parted ways with longtime drummer Joey Castillo.

“Era Vulgaris” came out in June 2007 and entered the Billboard chart at No. 14.