REDEMPTION: New Song Available For Streaming

REDEMPTION, the U.S. progressive metal band featuring in its ranks guitarist/songwriter Nick van Dyk and legendary FATES WARNING vocalist Ray Alder, will release its fifth studio album, “This Mortal Coil”, on September 26 in Europe and October 11 in North America via InsideOut Music. The follow-up to 2009’s “Snowfall On Judgment Day” was recorded and mixed with producer Neil Kernon (QUEENSRŸCHE, NEVERMORE, DEICIDE). The CD’s cover artwork was created by acclaimed artist and longtime band collaborator Travis Smith (OPETH, AVENGED SEVENFOLD, NEVERMORE).

“This Mortal Coil” track listing:

01. Path Of The Whirlwind
02. Blink Of An Eye
03. No Tickets To The Funeral
04. Dreams From The Pit
05. Noonday Devil
06. Let It Rain
07. Focus
08. Perfect
09. Begin Again
10. Stronger Than Death
11. Departure Of The Pale Horse

In North America, “This Mortal Coil” will also be available as a 2CD package featuring a special bonus CD with the following six (!) cover versions:

01. Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding (ELTON JOHN)
02. Jane (STARSHIP)
03. Hold The Line (TOTO)
04. Edge Of The Blade (JOURNEY)
05. Love To Love (UFO)
06. Precious Things (TORI AMOS)

The song “Noonday Devil” is available for streaming on the REDEMTION Facebook page(“Like” required).

Commented Nick van Dyk: “‘The ‘Noonday Devil’, as a concept, is about doubt. Are my efforts worth it? What’s the point of going on in the face of this adversity? Is there any meaning to my struggle or is this just pointless? These whispers of desperation can creep into all of us. As part of ‘This Mortal Coil’, all of which represents reflections on morality, ‘Noonday Devil’ is the point at which we decide to dig in and kick this specter of doubt in the teeth. It’s one of the most in-your-face songs we’ve ever done, with musical energy that matches the determination in the lyrics.”

Nick van Dyk previously stated about REDEMPTION‘s new CD, “It was a pleasure to work with Neil Kernon during the production, although I dare say we had more challenges and curve-balls in this process than either of us is accustomed to. Nonetheless, we overcame everything in our path, from Internet failures to lightning strikes, and since one of the themes of this CD is essentially overcoming adversity, the production process served as a bit of a metaphor for the whole concept!

“The new CD continues our creative effort to combine heaviness with melody — fusing those disparate elements has always been part of REDEMPTION‘s sound, along with an element that I have called emotional urgency, which we’ve maintained here. All in all, it sounds like REDEMPTION — although importantly I think it’s by far our best-sounding record, owing to the work of Neil Kernon and the mastering of Alan Douches.”

Regarding the artwork, Van Dyk said, “We have worked once again with the incredibly talented Travis Smith on our art; we work very well together and he has a proven knack for bringing my concepts to life visually.”

REDEMPTION will headline this year’s edition of the ProgPower Europe festival and embark on a European mini-tour.

The twelfth installment of the ProgPower Europe festival will take place in Baarlo, Holland, October 1-2.

REDEMPTION will play the last show on this visit at the inaugural edition of the Denmark Rock Festival on October 8 in Copenhagen, Denmark at the venue The Rock.

The mini-tour will see REDEMPTION play a selected number of concerts across Europe, giving European fans a chance to finally see the band live (their only European show so far was five years ago at the Headway festival in Amsterdam, Holland) and, of course, to witness a live rendition of material from their acclaimed current studio album release “Snowfall On Judgment Day”. Direct support act on these shows will come from the Italian proggers KINGCROW, who released their fourth album, “Phlegethon”, through Scarlet Records last year.