REDEMPTION: ‘This Mortal Coil’ First-Week Sales Revealed

“This Mortal Coil”, the fifth studio album from REDEMPTION, the U.S. progressive metal band featuring in its ranks guitarist/songwriter Nick van Dyk and legendary FATES WARNING vocalist Ray Alder, sold around 1,100 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at No. 32 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

Released on September 26 in Europe and October 11 in North America via InsideOut Music, the follow-up to 2009’s “Snowfall On Judgment Day” was recorded and mixed with producer Neil Kernon (QUEENSRŸCHE, NEVERMORE, DEICIDE). The CD’s cover artwork was created by acclaimed artist and longtime band collaborator Travis Smith (OPETH, AVENGED SEVENFOLD, NEVERMORE).

“This Mortal Coil” track listing:

01. Path Of The Whirlwind
02. Blink Of An Eye
03. No Tickets To The Funeral
04. Dreams From The Pit
05. Noonday Devil
06. Let It Rain
07. Focus
08. Perfect
09. Begin Again
10. Stronger Than Death
11. Departure Of The Pale Horse

In North America, “This Mortal Coil” is also available as a 2CD package featuring a special bonus CD with the following six (!) cover versions:

01. Funeral For A Friend/Love Lies Bleeding (ELTON JOHN)
02. Jane (STARSHIP)
03. Hold The Line (TOTO)
04. Edge Of The Blade (JOURNEY)
05. Love To Love (UFO)
06. Precious Things (TORI AMOS)

Nick van Dyk previously stated about REDEMPTION‘s new CD, “It was a pleasure to work with Neil Kernon during the production, although I dare say we had more challenges and curve-balls in this process than either of us is accustomed to. Nonetheless, we overcame everything in our path, from Internet failures to lightning strikes, and since one of the themes of this CD is essentially overcoming adversity, the production process served as a bit of a metaphor for the whole concept!

“The new CD continues our creative effort to combine heaviness with melody — fusing those disparate elements has always been part of REDEMPTION‘s sound, along with an element that I have called emotional urgency, which we’ve maintained here. All in all, it sounds like REDEMPTION — although importantly I think it’s by far our best-sounding record, owing to the work of Neil Kernon and the mastering of Alan Douches.”

Regarding the artwork, Van Dyk said, “We have worked once again with the incredibly talented Travis Smith on our art; we work very well together and he has a proven knack for bringing my concepts to life visually.”