Report: Former PANTERA Bassist Owes $450,000 To Government In Back Taxes And Penalties

According to USA Today, former PANTERA/DOWN and current KILL DEVIL HILL bassist Rex Brown owes $449,567 to the federal government in back taxes and penalties. Five tax liens have been filed by the Internal Revenue Service, including the most recent and largest lien, for $210,157, in his former home state of Texas in January. A sixth lien for $72,695 was released by the IRS in 2008, which likely means that those back taxes were paid.

The federal government can seize Brown‘s share of PANTERA‘s revenue, including royalties from his record and songwriting credits, if a payment plan is not worked out.

Brown last year signed a deal with Da Capo Press to write a memoir. Due in the fall, “Official Truth, 101 Proof: The Inside Story Of Pantera” is described as a “starkly honest and revealing” book about Rex‘s time in one of the most influential and enduringly popular bands in heavy metal history, offering Brown‘s shocking personal insight into a band that had swapped the grimy clubs of Texas for arenas around the world but whose story would ultimately be touched by tragedy.

De Capo is the publisher of BLACK SABBATH guitarist Tony Iommi‘s book “Iron Man: My Journey Through Heaven And Hell With Black Sabbath” and SLIPKNOT/STONE SOUR frontman Corey Taylor‘s New York Times best seller “Seven Deadly Sins – Settling The Argument Between Born Bad And Damaged Good”.

PANTERA‘s “Vulgar Display Of Power”, a landmark album widely acknowledged as one of metal’s most enduring and influential masterworks, will be reissued for its 20th anniversary on May 15 as a two-disc Deluxe Edition. Recorded by singer Philip Anselmo, guitarist “Dimebag” Darrell Abbott, Brown and drummer Vinnie Paul Abbott, the album has been certified double platinum by the RIAA and features several of the group’s most iconic songs including “Walk”, “Mouth For War”, “This Love” and “Fucking Hostile”.

The self-titled debut album from KILL DEVIL HILL — the band featuring Brown, Vinny Appice (HEAVEN HELL, BLACK SABBATH, DIO) on drums, Mark Zavon (RATT, W.A.S.P. , 40 CYCLE HUM) on guitar and Jason “Dewey” Bragg (PISSING RAZORS) on vocals — will be released at the end of May via SPV/Steamhammer.