Reunited CEREMONIAL OATH Plays First Show In 20 Years; Review, Photos Available

CEREMONIAL OATH, the reunited late ’80s/early ’90s Swedish extreme metal band whose members went on to create or join such acclaimed acts as IN FLAMES, HAMMERFALL and TIAMAT, played their first show in 20 years on January 4 at the inaugural edition of the Gothenburg Sound Festival at Trädgår’n in Gothenburg, Sweden.

The band’s setlist was as follows:

01. Sworn To Avenge (intro)
02. The Invocator
03. For I Have Sinned/The Praise
04. Enthroned
05. Only Evil Prevails
06. Thunderworld (Welcome To Forever)
07. Lords Of Twilight
08. Ceremonial Oath
09. The Lost Name Of God
10. The Book Of Thruth
11. Hellbound
12. Submit To Death (GROTESQUE cover with Tomas Lindberg on vocals)

A review of the concert, including live photos, can be found at this location.

Formed in 1988 under the name DESECRATOR, CEREMONIAL OATH released three demos, one EP and two full-length albums before calling it quits in 1995. The band’s former members include such internationally recognized names as Anders Fridén (IN FLAMES), Oscar Dronjak (HAMMERFALL), Jesper Strömblad (IN FLAMES) and Anders Iwers (TIAMAT).

CEREMONIAL OATH has inked a deal with Century Media Records for the re-release of the majority of its catalog, up to and including the 1993 CD “The Book Of Truth”. A remixed version of the latter effort will be made available on January 28.


Oscar Dronjak (HAMMERFALL): Guitar, vocals
Anders Iwers (TIAMAT): Guitar
Jesper Strömblad (IN FLAMES, DIMENSION ZERO): Bass

More CEREMONIAL OATH dates will be announced soon.

Photo credit: Daniel Falk of (courtesy of CEREMONIAL OATH‘s Facebook page)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *